Home arrow News & Reviews arrow Welsh Music Prize 2013 Shortlist Revealed

Welsh Music Prize 2013 Shortlist Revealed

Monday, 19 August 2013 Written by Jon Stickler

The 2013 Welsh Music Prize shortlist has been revealed, and it features Gruff Rhys' Neon Neon, ex-Gorky's Zygotic Mynci lead singer Euros Child, Zervas & Pepper, Winter Villains, Little Arrow and Metabeats,​ among others.

This year's shortlist sprawls across a range of genres from hip-hop and indie, to folk and electro, as well as bilingual releases. The full 2013 list is as follows:

Zervas and Pepper – Lifebringer
Winter Villains – February
Sweet Baboo – Ships
Race Horses – Furniture
Neon Neon – Praxis Makes Perfect
Metabeats – Caviar Crackle
Little Arrow – Wild Wishes
Laurence Made Me Cry – The Diary of Me
Georgia Ruth – Week of Pines
Fist of the First Man – Fist of the First Man
Euros Childs – Summer Special

Created in 2011 by Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and festival promoter and music industry expert John Rostron, the Welsh Music Prize celebrates the finest music made in Wales or by Welsh people around the world, while establishing a reputation similar to the Mercury Music Prize.

The judges, a panel of 12 industry figures and music experts, will meet in early October to narrow down the list to a final five albums. A winner will be confirmed on October 17 at a ceremony in Kuku Club, Cardiff on the opening night of this year’s Swn Festival.

In addition, following on from the success of last year's Welsh Music Prize nominees concert, which featured acts such as Cate Le Bon and Exit International, the Welsh Music Prize nominees concert will return to Clwb Ifor Bach on October 16, the night before the announcement of the winner of the prize. 

For further details on this year's Welsh Music Prize, head to welshmusicprize.com.


Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

You May Also Like:

Gruff Rhys, Sweet Baboo And HMS Morris Named On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
Wed 20 Sep 2017
Gruff Rhys, Sweet Baboo and HMSMorrisare among the acts shortlisted for this year’sWelsh Music Prize.
Meilyr Jones Wins Welsh Music Prize 2016
Fri 25 Nov 2016
Meilyr Jones has won the Welsh Music Prize for his debut solo album, '2013'
Cate Le Bon, Meilyr Jones And Skindred Named On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
Thu 08 Sep 2016
Cate Le Bon, Meilyr Jones and Skindred are among the acts shortlisted for this year's Welsh Music Prize.
Gwenno Takes Home Welsh Music Prize 2015
Thu 26 Nov 2015
Gwenno has won the Welsh Music Prize for her debut solo album, 'Y Dydd Olaf' ('The Last Day').
Joanna Gruesome, Catfish And The Bottlemen Named On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
Sat 19 Sep 2015
Joanna Gruesome have again made the shortlist for the Welsh Music Prize after taking top spot last year.
Joanna Gruesome Win Welsh Music Prize
Fri 28 Nov 2014
Joanna Gruesome have won the Welsh Music Prize for their debut, 'Weird Sister'.
< Prev   Next >