This Week’s New Releases: John Grant, Doja Cat And Jack Savoretti

The new releases are rolling out at an exciting rate. John Grant has shared the Cate Le Bon-produced follow-up to 2018’s ‘Love Is Magic’, Doja Cat has dropped her highly anticipated third album, and Jack Savoretti has put out LP #7.

Head below for the rest of this week’s new releases, including the tenth anniversary edition of Lady Gaga’s ‘Born This Way’.

Beartooth – ‘Below’ (Red Bull)

Brainstory – ‘Ripe’ (Big Crown)

Buckcherry – ‘Hellbound’ (Earache)

Cautious Clay – ‘Deadpan Love’ (Cautious Clay)

Dan Bettridge – ‘Good People. Bad Habits’ EP (Channel Analog)

Doja Cat – ‘Planet Her’ (Kemosabe/RCA)

Drug Church – ‘Tawny’ EP (Pure Noise Records)

Eve 6 – ‘Grim Value’ EP (Velocity)

Gaspard Augé – ‘Escapades’ (Ed Banger/Because)

Goo Goo Dolls – ‘Rarities’ (Warner)

Gorgon City – ‘Olympia’ (Positiva)

Hiatus Kaiyote – ‘Mood Valiant’ (Brainfeeder)

Hiss Golden Messenger – ‘Quietly Blowing It’ (Merge)

Island – ‘Yesterday Park’ (Frenchkiss)

Jack Savoretti – ‘Europiana’ (EMI)

Jennifer Nettles – ‘Always Like New’ (Concord)

John Grant – ‘Boy From Michigan’ (Bella Union)

John Murry – ‘The Stars Are God’s Bullet Holes’ (Submarine Cat)

JP Saxe – ‘Dangerous Levels Of Introspection’ (Arista)

Lady Gaga – ‘Born This Way The Tenth Anniversary’ (Interscope)

Lightman Jarvis Ecstatic Band – ‘Banned’ (Anti-)

Lissie – ‘Watch Over Me (Early Works 2002-2009)’ (Cooking Vinyl)

L’Rain – ‘Fatigue’ (Mexican Summer)

Lucy Dacus – ‘Home Video’ (Matador)

Maple Glider – ‘To Enjoy Is The Only Thing’ (Partisan)

The Mountain Goats – ‘Dark In Here’ (Merge)

Pabllo Vittar – ‘Batidão Tropical’ (Mataderos)

The Roots – ‘Do You Want More?!!!??!’ (Geffen)

Toto – ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’ (Mascot)

Tyler, The Creator – ‘Call Me If You Get Lost’ (Columbia)

UB40 – ‘Bigga Baggariddim’ (SRG)


Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Amanda Palmer, Sigrid And Stella Donnelly

Happy International Women’s Day! There’s some great new releases to wrap your listening gear around this weekend. The Dresden Dolls singer and pianist Amanda Palmer has put out her third solo LP, while Norwegian vocalist Sigrid and Australian singer-songwriter Stella Donnelly have both released their debut albums.

Head below to check out what else is on offer.

Amanda Palmer – ‘There Will Be No Intermission’ (8ft. Records)

Buckcherry – ‘Warpaint’ (Century Media Records)

David Gray – ‘Gold In A Brass Age’ (IHT Records)

Dido – ‘Still On My Mind’ (BMG)

Flight Of The Conchords – ‘Live In London’ (Sub Pop)

Foals – ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 1’ (Warner Bros)

Gesaffelstein – ‘Hyperion’ (Columbia)

Helado Negro – ‘This Is How You Smile’ (RVNG INTL.)

Juice WRLD – ‘Death Race For Love’ (Grade A Productions/Interscope Records)

Light Conductor – ‘Sequence One’ (Constellation)

Malihini – ‘Hopefully, Again’ (Memphis Industries)

Meat Puppets – ‘Dusty Notes’ (Megaforce)

Patty Griffin – ‘Patty Griffin’ (Pgm)

SASAMI – ‘SASAMI’ (Domino)

Sigrid – ‘Sucker Punch’ (Island)

Stella Donnelly – ‘Beware of the Dogs’ (Secretly Canadian)

Read More

Fun With A Capital F: Steel Panther and Bowling For Soup Rock Cardiff’s Motorpoint Arena


Jon Stickler waded into a sea of spandex and pop-punk nostalgia as Steel Panther, Bowling For Soup and Buckcherry hit the stage at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff. The result? Fun with a capital F.

Tonight, Cardiff gets its turn to become party central as Steel Panther, Bowling for Soup and Buckcherry rock into the Welsh capital for one of the more unlikely tours of the year: a potty-mouthed, pop-punk-via-glam-metal triple header.

Although most are a little surprised to see Buckcherry on the bill, their raw, gritty sound gets everyone excited and a high-octane performance straight out of the gate shows the band are excited to be here too. The snake-hipped, bare-chested Josh Todd bawls his way through a series of the band’s staples, including Sunshine, Ridin’, Gluttony, Out Of Line, Lit Up and their revved up cover of Icona Pop’s I Love It, Say Fuck It.

Next up are not-retired-anymore Texas pop-punk troupe Bowling For Soup, who use their moment in the spotlight to do what they do best: bounce fans back to their teenage years with a lively, humorous set. Old school hits 1985, Girl All The Bad Guys Want, High School Never Ends, Almost and The Last Rock Show are paired with their theme song to Phineas And Ferb and a mid-set cover of the song everyone mistakenly thinks they wrote: Stacy’s Mom by Fountains of Wayne. “Who wants to hear our song about Stacy’s Mom?” laughs frontman Jaret Reddick as many of the crowd cheer. “Yeah, that’s not our song.”

As the last few stragglers made their way in from the cold, Steel Panther waste no time in raising temperatures as they bring a taste of Sunset Strip’s sleazy underbelly to south Wales. Sounding tighter than guitarist Satchel’s spandex, all four lycra-clad lotharios turn the knobs (no pun intended) to 11 for a set drawn mainly from their 2009 debut ‘Feel The Steel’ and its 2011 follow up, ‘Balls Out’.

Opening with Eyes of a Panther and Just Like Tiger Woods, the mirth flows throughout their set. Some say they’re not a real band, while others moan that it’s all a gimmick but, among the hairspray and explicit jokes there are four astounding musicians who wouldn’t have got where they are if they didn’t know their shit inside out. On top of that, they bring together thousands of rock and metal fans tonight and if that’s not something to celebrate and shout about then I don’t want to know. Flawless fun.

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Jess Glynne, The Fratellis And Faithless


There are a lot of big names offering up new records this week. Jess Glynne is making her full length debut, meanwhile Glaswegian trio The Fratellis are on album #4 with ‘Eyes Wide, Tongue Tied’. We’ve also got Faithless celebrating 20 years together with the release of ‘2.0’. However, there is a plethora of new releases this week, so make sure to check them out below.

The Bohicas – ‘The Making Of’ (Domino)

Bon Jovi – ‘Burning Bridges’ (Virgin EMI)

Buckcherry – ‘Rock ‘N’ Roll (F- Bomb/ Caroline)

Disturbed – ‘Immortalized’ (reprise/ 143)

Faithless – ‘2.0’ (Sony)

The Fratellis – ‘Eyes Wide, Tongue Tied’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Jess Glynne – ‘I Cry When I Laugh’ (Atlantic)

Kadavar – ‘Berlin’ (Nuclear Blast)

Mark Lanegan – ‘Houston: Publishing Demos 2002’ (Ipecac)

The Strypes – ‘Little Victories’ (Virgin EMI)

Read More