This Week’s New Releases: Ariana Grande, AJ Tracey And Queen Zee

This week’s new releases list is almost as diverse as the crowd in the Star Wars cantina scene. Ariana Grande has promptly followed up 2018’s ‘Sweetener’, while West London rapper AJ Tracey has released his self-titled debut LP, as have the force of nature that is Liverpool’s Queen Zee.

Still want more? Fill those boots below.

AJ Tracey – ‘AJ Tracey’ (AJ Tracey)

Ariana Grande – ‘Thank U, Next’ (Republic Records)

Beast In Black – ‘From Hell With Love’ (Nuclear Blast)

Bob Mould – ‘Sunshine Rock’ (Merge)

Cass McCombs – ‘Tip Of The Sphere’ (Anti-)

HEALTH – ‘Vol. 4: Slaves Of Fear’ (Concorde/Lorna Vista)

Jessica Pratt – ‘Quiet Signs’ (City Slang)

Jozeg Van Wissem & Jim Marmusch – ‘An Attempt To Draw Aside The Veil’ (Sacred Bones)

The Lemonheads – ‘Varshons 2’ (Fire Records)

Mercury Rev – ‘Bobboe Gentry’s The Delta Sweete Revisited’ (Bella Union)

Panda Bear – ‘Buoys’ (Domino)

Queen Zee – ‘Queen Zee’ (Sasstone)

Said The Whale – ‘Cascadia’ (Arts & Crafts/Caroline)

Wiz Khalifa and Currenc$y – ‘2009’ (Jet Life Recordings)

Xiu Xiu – ‘Girl With Basket Of Fruit’ (Upset The Rhythm)

YAK – ‘Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness’ (Virgin EMI)

Read More

Things We Love This Week: Julien Baker & Matt Berninger, Phoebe Bridgers, Cass McCombs

Once again, Friday has rolled around in this endless cycle of weekly monotony. So close yet so far away, the pre-Christmas frenzy has turned your brain to mush in a haze of work deadlines and wrapping paper. Need a shake up? Here are some new tracks for you to chill out with on a handy, blog-shaped platter.

Julien Baker x Matt Berninger – All I Want

One third of Boygenius (and solo genius) Julien Baker and Matt Berninger, frontman of the National, have teamed up for a new single, the leading track for a series of 7″ releases benefiting Planned Parenthood.  Working too with Stephan Altman, All I Want is a sombre, piano-led track with interlacing melodies from the two indie-rock powerhouse vocalists.

Here’s a clip of them performing it live right here. **fangirls**

Phoebe Bridgers – Killer Video

Yaaaaaas. Phoebe Bridgers has gone and done yet another cool thing. On another branch of the Boygenius tree, she’s shared a new video. No new material as of yet, it’s for Killer from ‘Stranger In The Alps’. Bridgers wanders around an old abandoned tuberculosis asylum in Joshua Tree, California, in that classic monotone hue we’ve come to expect from her.

Cass McCombs – Estrella

Estrella is the second cut from the Americana singer songwriter’s upcoming album. Could be a tribute to the Mexican musical legend Juan Gabriel, or indeed that delicious beer. It’s a swirling, hypnotic track with intricate production reminiscent of the earliest synth-pop. Pop it on in the background while you curl up with a good book when it’s stupidly cold outside.

‘Tip Of The Sphere’ is out on February 8.

Spotify Wrapped

The annual event is upon us again–the streaming service’s cool feature for checking out your listening habits over the past year is back. Spotify Wrapped reveals the first song you listened to in 2018, the first new music discovery you made, how long you’ve spent with your favourite artist, and even puts your top 100 tracks into a handy little playlist for you. Fun right? Don’t forget to share your experiences on your social media channels. After all, if you didn’t post it to your Insta story, did it even happen?

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Britney Spears, Banks & Steelz And Glass Animals


I know we say it a lot, but this week we really have got a mixed bag to get through. Britney Spears is releasing her ninth studio album, Glass Animals are offering up their sophomore LP, while Banks & Steelz, Interpol’s Paul Banks and Wu Tang Clan’s RZA, are putting out their collaborative debut.

None of those tickle your fancy? Check out the rest of our pick of this week’s new releases below.

Banks & Steelz – ‘Anything But Words’ (Warner Bros)

Barbra Streisand – ‘Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway’ (Columbia)

Black Coffee – ‘Pieces Of Me’ (Ultra)

Britney Spears – ‘Glory’ (RCA)

Butch Walker – ‘Stay Gold’ (Lojinx)

Cass McCombs – ‘Mangy Love’ (Anti-)

De La Soul – ‘And The Anonymous Nobody’ (AOI)

Glass Animals – ‘How To Be A Human Being’ (Caroline)

Jeffery – ‘No, My Name Is Jeffery’ (300 Entertainment/Atlantic)

Motion Graphics – ‘Motion Graphics’ (Domino)

The Veils – ‘Total Depravity’ (Nettwerk)

Read More