This Week’s New Releases: Anne-Marie, Dave And Leon Bridges

There are some big hitters dropping new records this week. Both Anne-Marie and Dave have released their second albums, while Leon Bridges has put out his third.

Fancy something different? Head below for more new releases.

Against The Current – ‘Fever’ (Fueled By Ramen)

Anne-Marie – ‘Therapy’ (Major Toms/Asylum)

Avelino – ‘Ego Kills’ (More Records/ OddChild Music)

Bardot – ‘2021 Mixes’ EP (Bardot)

Bizzy Banks – ‘Same Energy’ (Atlantic)

Darkside – ‘Spiral’ (Matador)

Dave – ‘We’re All Alone In This Together’ (Neighbourhood)

David Crosby – ‘For Free’ (Three Blind Mice/BMG)

Descendents – ‘9th & Walnut’ (Epitaph)

The Gun Club – ‘Fire Of Love (Remastered 2020)’ (Extra Term Audio)

Jackson Browne – ‘Downhill From Everywhere’ (Inside)

Joshua Radin – ‘The Ghost and The Wall’ (Nettwerk)

Leon Bridges – ‘Gold-Diggers Sound’ (Columbia)

Maya Beiser – ‘Maya Beiser x Philip Glass’ (Islandia)

Mega Bog – ‘Life, and Another’ (Paradise Of Bachelors)

Molly Burch – ‘Romantic Images’ (Captured Tracks)

Nothing But Thieves – ‘Moral Panic II’ EP (Sony)

Piroshka – ‘Love Drips and Gathers’ (Bella Union)

Power Of Dreams – ‘Aüslander’ (Power Of Dreams)

Shiny Joe Ryan – ‘Shiny’s Democracy’ (Spinning Top)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Robyn, Andrea Bocelli And Culture Club

This week there are some corkers for you! Robyn has returned with the follow up to 2010’s ‘Body Talk’, Andrea Bocelli has released his album featuring collaborations with Ed Sheeran, Dua Lipa, and Josh Groban, among others, while Boy George and Culture Club are back with their first studio album of original material in nearly 20 years.

There’s lots more to check out below if none of those tickle your fancy.

Andrea Bocelli – ‘Si’ (Decca)

Antarctigo Vespucci – ‘Love in the Time of E-Mail’ (Big Scary Monsters)

B.E.D – ‘B.E.D’ (Heavenly Recordings)

Blackberry Smoke – ‘Southern Ground Sessions’ (Earache)

Bloodbath – ‘The Arrow Of Satan Is Drawn’ (Peaceville)

Boy George And Culture Club – ‘Life’ (BMG)

Daughters – ‘You Won’t Get What You Want’ (Ipecac)

David Crosby – ‘Here If You Listen’ (BMG)

Dean Wareham vs. Cheval Sombre – ‘A Sentimental Education’ (Double Feature)

Dolores Haze – ‘Play Hard Fuck Hard Love Hard’ (Warner Music)

Georgia Anne Muldrow – ‘Overload’ (Brainfeeder)

Hush Kids – ‘Hush Kids’ (Hush Kids/Tone Tree Music)

Jessica Moss – ‘Entanglement’ (Constellation)

Julia Holter – ‘Aviary’ (Domino)

The Kinks – ‘The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society – 50th Anniversary’ (BMG)

Laura Gibson – ‘Goners’ (City Slang)

NAO – ‘Saturn’ (RCA)

Paul Smith – ‘Diagrams’ (Billingham Records)

RAY BLK – ‘Empress’ (Universal/Island)

Robyn – ‘Honey’ (Island/Universal/Konichiwa Records)

Saves the Day – ‘9’ (Rude Records)

Seth Lakeman – ‘The Well Worn Path’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Shad – ‘A Short Story About A War’ (Secret City Records)

Soap&Skin – ‘From Gas To Solid/You Are My Friend’ (Play It Again Sam)

The Struts – ‘Young & Dangerous’ (Polydor)

Thom Yorke – ‘Suspiria’ (XL)

Tom Odell – ‘Jubilee Road’ (Sony)

Ty Dolla $ign and Jeremih – ‘Mih-Ty’ (Def Jam/Universal)

Ty Segall – ‘Fudge Sandwich’ (In the Red Records)

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – ‘IC-01 Hanoi’ (Jagjaguwar)

Read More

Things We Love This Week: Phoebe Bridgers, Prince, Fleet Foxes, David Crosby

Hello! Guess what? It’s September. There are only three months left until Christmas…here are some things you might like a bit more than those two facts.

Phoebe Bridgers – Scott Street

In this new video, Bridgers hires a collection of lookalikes to dress up like her, to the point where it actually gets a bit difficult to tell them apart. They sing, have a bit of a dance, play on trampolines, ride the bus, and hit a piñata together. Where can I sign up?

Prince – 17 Days

A new version of Prince’s song, 17 Days, has been shared. Originally released in 1984 as a b-side to When Doves Cry, the new rendition is, in true Prince style, super funky and has a whole lot for rhythm for just one singer and his piano. It also features snippets of comments and chat between the musician and the sound engineers. I could listen to this all day.

The track comes off a posthumous album, ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’, due for release on September 21.

Fleet Foxes – I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar

The ever-enticing folk band have shared a video for the opener from their latest album, ‘Crack-Up’.

Shot in Alabama Hills, a desert in Lone Pine, California, a house in Palm Springs, the video sees a man running – towards or away – a surreal, digital red cube.

Watch the video, directed by Sean Pecknold – frontman Robin’s older brother – below.

David Crosby – Glory

To finish, here’s just a really nice song. Some chilled-out guitar chords to take you into the weekend. Crosby is joined by Becca Stevens, Michael League of Snarky Puppy and Michelle Willis for this track, and a full album, ‘Here If You Listen’, due for release on October 26.

Happy weekend x

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Miley Cyrus, Wolf Alice And Propagandhi

This week there is a massively mixed bag of new albums on offer. Miley Cyrus has put out her new record, which boasts a collaboration with Dolly Parton, Wolf Alice have finally followed up ‘My Love Is Cool’ and Propagandhi are back with their first album for five years.

If none of that floats your boat, check out some more new releases below.

Barns Courtney – ‘The Attractions Of Youth’ (Virgin EMI)

Benjamin Clementine – ‘I Tell A Fly’ (Virgin EMI)

Ben Frost – ‘The Centre Cannot Hold’ (Mute)

David Crosby – ‘Sky Trails’ (BMG)

David Gilmour – ‘Live At Pompeii’ (Columbia)

Demi Lovato – ‘Tell Me You Love Me’ (Polydor)

Four Tet – ‘New Energy’ (BMG)

Hurts – ‘Desire’ (Columbia)

Ibeyi – ‘Ash’ (XL Recordings)

Jamie Lawson – ‘Happy Accidents’ (Gingerbread Man Records)

J Roddy Walston And The Business – ‘Destroyers Of The Soft Life’ (ATO Records)

Jessica Lea Mayfield – ‘Sorry Is Gone’ (ATO Records)

Michael Jackson – ‘Scream’ (MJJ/Sony)

Miley Cyrus – ‘Younger Now’ (RCA)

Monolord – ‘Rust’ (Riding Easy)

Pearl Jam – ‘Let’s Play Two – Live’ (Virgin EMI)

Primus – ‘The Desaturating Seven’ (ATO Records)

Propagandhi – ‘Victory Lap’ (Epitaph Records)

Protomartyr – ‘Relatives In Descent’ (Domino)

Shania Twain – ‘Now’ (Virgin EMI)

Torres – ‘Three Futures’ (4AD)

Wolf Alice – ‘Visions Of A Life’ (Dirty Hit)

The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die – ‘Always Foreign’ (Epitaph Records)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Lady Gaga, Leonard Cohen And American Football


This week thare are some huge names releasing new material. Lady Gaga has followed up her 2014 collaborative album with Tony Bennett, ‘Cheek To Cheek’, and 2013’s ‘Artpop’, Leonard Cohen has put out his fourteenth studio LP and American Football have released their first album in 17 years.

If none of that is your cup of tea then make sure you check out the rest of our pick of this week’s new releases below.

American Football – ‘American Football’ (Wichita/PIAS)

Crocodiles – ‘Dreamless’ (Zoo Music)

David Crosby – ‘Lighthouse’ (Decca)

Hooton Tennis Club – ‘Big Box Of Chocolates’ (Heavenly)

Jimmy Eat World – ‘Integrity Blues’ (RCA)

John K. Samson – ‘Winter Wheat’ (Anti-)

Korn – ‘The Serenity Of Suffering’ (Roadrunner Records)

Lady Gaga – ‘Joanne’ (Polydor)

Leonard Cohen – ‘You Want It Darker’ (Sony)

Melanie C – ‘Version Of Me’ (Red Girl)

NxWorries – ‘Yes Lawd!’ (Stones Throw)

Savoy Motel – ‘Savoy Motel’ (What’s Your Rupture)

Syd Arthur – ‘Apricity’ (Caroline)

Tanya Tagaq – ‘Retribution’ (Six Shooter Records)

Pretenders – ‘Alone’ (BMG)

The Pretty Reckless – ‘Who You Selling For’ (Virgin EMI)

The Radio Dept. – ‘Running Out Of Love’ (Labrador AB)

Spirit Club – ‘Slouch’ (Ghost Ramp)

Various Artists – ‘Lazarus: Original Cast Recording: Lazarus The Musical’ (Columbia)

Read More