This Week’s New Releases: Twenty One Pilots, You Me At Six And Cat Power

This week you really are spoilt for choice. Twenty One Pilots have finally followed up 2015’s ‘Blurryface’, You Me At Six have released LP #6 and Cat Power has put out a new record.

Still want more? Head below.

Adrianne Lenker – ‘abysskiss’ (Saddle Creek)

Ancient Shapes – ‘Silent Rave’ (You’ve Changed Records)

AlunaGeorge – ‘Champagne Eyes’ EP (AlunaGeorge)

Atmosphere – ‘Mi Vida Local’ (Rhymesayers)

Behemoth – ‘I Loved You At Your Darkest’ (Nuclear Blast)

Black Peaks – ‘All That Divides’ (Rise Records/BMG)

Cat Power – ‘Wanderer’ (Domino)

City and Colour – ‘Guide Me Back Home’ (Still Records)

Coheed and Cambria – ‘The Unheavenly Creatures’ (Roadrunner)

Cursive – ‘Vitriola’ (Big Scary Monsters)

Doyle Bramhall II – ‘Shades’ (Provogue Records)

Echo & the Bunnymen – ‘The Stars, The Oceans & The Moon’ (BMG)

Electric Six – ‘Bride Of The Devil’ (Metropolis Records)

Eric Church – ‘Desperate Man’ (EMI)

Estrons – ‘You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough’ (The Orchard/Gofod Records)

Fucked Up – ‘Dose Your Dreams’ (Merge)

Ghostface Killah – ‘The Lost Tapes’ (X-Ray Records)

High On Fire – ‘Electric Messiah’ (eOne Music)

Hugh Cornwell – ‘Monster’ (Sony)

Ice Nine Kills – ‘The Silver Scream’ (Fearless Records)

Jerusalem in My Heart – ‘Daqa’iq Tudaiq’ (Constellation)

JR Harbidge – ‘First Ray Of Light’ (Mob Acoustic via Absolute)

Kenny Allstar – ‘Block Diaries’ (Locked In/Star Work/Columbia)

Kristin Hersh – ‘Possible Dust Clouds’ (Fire Records)

KT Tunstall – ‘Wax’ (Virgin)

Madeline Kenney – ‘Perfect Shapes’ (Carpark Records)

Marie Davidson – ‘Working Class Woman’ (Ninja Tune)

Matt Nathanson – ‘Sings His Sad Heart’ (Acrobat Records)

mewithoutYou – ‘[Untitled]’ (Big Scary Monsters)

Molly Burch – ‘First Flower’ (Captured Tracks)

Petite Noir – ‘La Maison Noir/The Black House’ (Roya)

Phosphorescent – ‘C’est La Vie’ (Dead Oceans)

Ron Gallo – ‘Stardust Birthday Party’ (New West)

Steve Perry – ‘Traces’ (Fantasy Records)

Swearin’ – ‘Fall Into the Sun’ (Merge)

Sylar – ‘Seasons’ (Hopeless Records)

Tall Heights – ‘Pretty Colors For Your Actions’ (Masterworks)

T.I. – ‘Dime Trap’ (Epic Records)

Tokyo Police Club – ‘TPC’ (Dine Alone)

Twenty One Pilots – ‘Trench’ (Fueled By Ramen)

Various Artists (Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper and cast) – ‘A Star Is Born’ Soundtrack (Universal)

Will Hoge – ‘My American Dream’ (EDLO Records/Thirty Tigers)

Windhand – ‘Eternal Return’ (Relapse Records)

You Me at Six – ‘VI’ (Underdog/AWAL)

Read More

Things We Love This Week: Christine and the Queens, Everything Everything, Estrons

Summer has well and truly gone. We now peer out of the window, watching the rain and wind as it hammers into our grey landscape. It’s the wettest week we’ve ever seen, from the standpoint of water. So why not dry off with some lovely musical things that happened this week?

Christine and the Queens – La Marcheuse

In her latest video, Chris becomes a bullfighter. Or does she? Instead of squaring up to the animal, she whips off her traje de luces and makes friends with it. It follows her around and they have a little cuddle at the end. Heartwarming and wholesome, the warm-hued video captures the mellow indie pop of La Marcheuse. Have a watch to feel some good vibes.

Her new album, ‘Chris’, is out now.

Everything Everything at the Mercury Prize ceremony

I CAN’T GET OVER HIS VOICE. Jonathan Higgs, frontman of the eccentric pop band Everything Everything, has the most mental voice. It’s low, its high, it’s staccato and agitated, but its power really stands out during the exceptionally long notes. Higgs is backed by an exceptionally tight rhythm section and some bright synths, but his voice really takes over everything (everything) about their performance. I love it. They didn’t win (congrats, Wolf Alice), but check out their performance of Night Of The Long Knives from their Mercury-nominated album ‘A Fever Dream’.

Shout out to further nominees Nadine Shah and Everything Is Recorded, too.

Estrons – Body

Estrons have shared another track from their upcoming album, ‘You Say I’m Too Much, I Say You’re Not Enough’, which is due on October 5.

Body explores how art has, for too long, set the paradigms for how we should look. Tali Källström, vocalist, said of the new track and its video, that reveals close ups of her body: “It suppresses us, it creates the unreachable which leads humanity into a pit of judgement, self denial and depression. This video is about studying the real. Celebrating yourself. Sexualising yourself, and letting go of the concept of flaws by flaunting who you really are.”

Catch the band touring the UK in November.

Have a fun weekend sheltering from the rain xo

Read More