This Week’s New Releases: ​Chaka Khan, Millencolin And SWMRS

It’s another busy one. The Queen Of Funk, aka Chaka Khan, has put out her first new full-length in 12 years, skate-punk legends Millencolin have dropped the follow up to 2015’s ‘True Brew’ and the Bay Area band SWMRS have released their second album.

Not enough for ya? Take a look below.

Aqualung – ‘Additional Futures’ EP (Okey-Donkey)

Avantasia – ‘Moonglow’ (Nuclear Blast)

Avril Lavigne – ‘Head Above Water’ (BMG)

​Betty Who – ‘Betty’ (AWAL Recordings America, Inc)

​Chaka Khan – ‘Hello Happiness’ (Island)

Czarface & Ghostface Killah – ‘Czarface Meets Ghostface’ (Silver Age)

Florida Georgia Line – ‘Can’t Say I Ain’t Country’ (Big Machine)

Hajk – ‘Drama’ (Jansen Records)

Hayes Carll – ‘What It Is’ (Dualton)

Jon Fratelli – ‘Bright Night Flowers’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Ladytron – ‘Ladytron’ (Ladytron)

The Long Ryders – ‘Psychedelic Country Soul’ (Cherry Red)

Mantra – ‘Dreamland’ (Dine Alone Records)

Methyl Ethel – ‘Triage’ (4AD)

Millencolin – ‘SOS’ (Epitaph)

Picture This – ‘MDRN LV’ (Republic Records)

Piroshka – ‘Brickbat’ (Bella Union)

Ryan Bingham – ‘American Love Song’ (Thirty Tigers)

SWMRS – ‘Berkeley’s On Fire’ (Fueled By Ramen)

Tedeschi Trucks Band – ‘Signs’ (Fantasy/Concord)

Tourist – ‘Everyday’ (Monday Records)

Wicca Phase Springs Eternal – ‘Suffer On’ (Run For Cover)

Woman’s Hour – ‘Ephyra’ (Practise)

Yann Tiersen – ‘All’ (Mute)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Gorillaz, Mary J. Blige And Thurston Moore

This week is absolutely bonkers! Gorillaz are finally following up ‘The Fall’, Mary J. Blige has released a new record and Thurston Moore has offered up a new solo LP, which he recorded with a little help from his friends, namely Deb Googe, of My Bloody Valentine and Primal Scream, guitarist James Sedwards, of N?ught and Chrome Hoof, and drummer Steve Shelley, of Sonic Youth and Sun Kil Moon.

If none of that is up your street there’s plenty more to cast your eye over below.

Blood Command – ‘Cult Drugs’ (Fysisk Format)

Cashmere Cat – ‘9’ (Mad Love/Interscope Records)

Feist – ‘Pleasure’ (Polydor)

Gorillaz – ‘Humanz’ (PLG UK Frontline)

Hajk – ‘Hajk’ (Jansen Plateproduksjon)

JMSN – ‘Whatever Makes U Happy’ (White Room Records)

John Mellencamp – ‘Sad Clowns & Hillbillies’ (Universal/Island)

Juliana Hatfield – ‘Pussycat’ (American Laundromat Records)

Lea Michele – ‘Places’ (Columbia)

Life Of Agony – ‘A Place Where There’s No More Pain’ (Napalm Records)

Little Cub – ‘Still Life’ (Domino)

Lonely Robot – ‘The Big Dream’ (InsideOutMusic)

Mark Lanegan Band – ‘Gargoyle’ (Heavenly Recordings)

Mary J. Blige – ‘Strength Of A Woman’ (Universal/Island)

Mew – ‘Visuals’ (Play It Again Sam)

New Found Glory – ‘Makes Me Sick’ (Hopeless)

Sufjan Stevens – ‘Carrie & Lowell Live’ (Asthmatic Kitty Records)

Sylvan Esso – ‘What Now’ (Caroline)

Thurston Moore – ‘Rock N Roll Consciousness’ (Caroline)

True Moon – ‘True Moon’ (Lövely Records)

Wale – ‘Shine’ (Atlantic)

Willie Nelson – ‘God’s Problem Child’ (Sony)

Read More