This Week’s New Releases: Aphex Twin, Paul Weller and The Dirty Nil

This week is bonkers. Aphex Twin has returned with the ‘Collapse’ EP, while Paul Weller has followed up 2017’s ‘A Kind Revolution’ and Canadian Rockers the Dirty Nil have put out album #2.

If none of that piques your interest there’s loads more to check out below.

6LACK – ‘East Atlanta Love Letter’ (LVRN/Interscope Records)

Ann Wilson – ‘Immortal’ (BMG)

Aphex Twin – ‘Collapse’ EP (Warp)

Bob Moses – ‘Battle Lines’ (Domino)

Carrie Underwood – ‘Cry Pretty’ (Virgin EMI)

The Chills – ‘Snow Bound’ (Fire Records)

David Guetta – ‘7’ (Parlophone)

Dawn Landes – ‘Meet Me At The River’ (Yep Roc)

Dilly Dally – ‘Heaven’ (Partisan Records)

The Dirty Nil – ‘Master Volume’ (Dine Alone/Caroline)

Dreams – ‘No One Defeats Us’ (Virgin EMI)

Fatherson – ‘Sum Of All Your Parts’ (Easy Life Records)

First Aid Kit – ‘Tender Offerings’ EP (Columbia)

Ghetts – ‘Ghetto Gospel: The New Testament’ (GIIG/Caroline)

Good Charlotte – ‘Generation Rx’ (BMG)

Guerilla Toss – ‘Twisted Crystal’ (Dfa Records/Ada)

Hawkwind – ‘Road To Utopia’ (Cherry Red)

Jean-Michel Jarre – ‘Planet Jarre’ (Sony)

Jungle – ‘For Ever’ (XL Recordings)

Low – ‘Double Negative’ (Sub Pop)

Lyrics Born – ‘Quite A Life’ (Mobile Home Recordings)

Monster Truck – ‘True Rockers’ (Mascot)

Noname – ‘Room 25’ (Noname)

Orbital – ‘Monsters Exist’ (ACP Recordings)

Pale Waves – ‘My Mind Makes Noises’ (Dirty Hit)

Paul Weller – ‘True Meanings’ (Parlophone)

Petrol Girls – ‘The Future Is Dark’ EP (Hassle Records)

Sandro Perri – ‘In Another Life’ (Constellation)

Snakes In Paradise – ‘Step Into The Light’ (Frontiers Records)

Steven Page – ‘Discipline: Heal Thyself, Pt. II’ (Warner Music Canada)

Thrice – ‘Palms’ (Epitaph)

Throbbing Gristle – ‘Journey Through A Body/Mission Of Dead Souls’ (Mute)

Tony Bennett & Diana Krall – ‘Love Is Here To Stay’ (Verve/UMG)

Uriah Heep – ‘Living The Dream’ (Frontiers)

Wale – ‘Free Lunch’ EP (Warner Bros)

We Were Promised Jetpacks – ‘The More I Sleep The Less I Dream’ (Big Scary Monsters)

Willie Nelson – ‘My Way’ (Sony)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Ghost, Hawkwind And QTY

Everyone may be preoccupied with that white stuff falling from the sky, but we’re going crazy for the new live album from Ghost, which they surprise released today! Legendary space-rockers Hawkwind also have a new live record out and New York duo QTY have offered up their debut LP.

Not enough for ya? Head below for more.

Barbara Streisand – ‘The Music…The Mem’ries…The Magic!’ (Live) (Columbia)

Creeper – ‘Christmas’ EP

Dua Lipa – ‘Live Acoustic’ EP

Ghost – ‘Ceremony And Devotion’ (Digital Release) (Loma Vista Recordings)

Grimtone – ‘Memento Mori’ (Extreme Metal Music/Rockshots Records)

Hawkind – ‘At The Roundhouse’ (Cherry Red)

Jim James – ‘Tribute To 2’ (ATO)

K. Michelle – ‘Kimberly: The People I Used To Know’ (Atlantic)

Roy Blair – ‘Cat Heaven’ (Roy/Empire)

QTY – ‘QTY’ (Dirty Hit)

Various Artists – ‘Control The Streets Volume 1’ (Quality Control)

Scanner – ‘Fibolae’ (Pomperipossa Records)

Tom Rogerson and Brian Eno – ‘Finding Shore’ (Dead Oceans)

Walker Hayes – ‘boom.’ (Sony)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Blondie, At The Drive In And Mac DeMarco

Okay, when I said last week was bonkers I may have jumped the gun as this week’s list of new releases is truly overwhelming.

Blondie are putting out a new LP, on which they collaborated with Sia, Johnny Marr, TV on The Radio’s Dave Sitek, Charli XCX, Dev Hynes and Strokes guitarist Nick Valensi, At The Drive In are releasing their first new album in 17 years, and Mac DeMarco is finally following up 2014’s ‘Salad Days’. Wowser! But if none of that tickles your fancy there’s plenty more to choose from below.

The Afghan Whigs – ‘In Spades’ (Sub Pop)

Amanda Palmer & EdwardKa-Spel – ‘I Can Spin A Rainbow’ (Cooking Vinyl)

At The Drive In – ‘in·ter a·li·a’ (Rise Records)

Black Lips – ‘Satan’s Graffiti Or God’s Art?’ (Vice Music)

Blondie – ‘Pollinator’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Bonny ‘Prince’ Billy – ‘Best Troubador’ (Drag City/Palace Records)

Cayetana – ‘New Kind Of Normal’ (Plum Records)

Chris Stapleton – ‘From A Room: Vol.1’ (UMG Nashville)

Clean Cut Kid – ‘Felt’ (Polydor)

Day Wave – ‘The Days We Had’ (Fiction)

Diana Krall – ‘Turn Up The Quiet’ (Decca/Verve)

Fazerdaze – ‘Morningside’ (Flying Nun Records)

Gnarwolves – ‘Outsiders’ (Tangled Talk Records/Big Scary Monsters)

Hawkwind – ‘Into The Woods’ (Cherry Red)

Ho99o9 – ‘United States of Horror’ (Toys Have Powers)

Hoops – ‘Routines’ (Fat Possum Records)

Kasabian – ‘For Crying Out Loud’ (Columbia)

Leftfield – ‘Leftism 22’ (Sony)

Mac DeMarco – ‘This Old Dog’ (Captured Tracks)

Motionless In White – ‘Graveyard Shift’ (Roadrunner)

Perfume Genius – ‘No Shape’ (Matador)

Pond – ‘The Weather’ (Marathon Artists)

The Rifles – ‘The Rifles Unplugged Album: Recorded at Abbey Road Studios’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Sigrid – ‘Don’t Kill My Vibe’ (Island)

Slowdive – ‘Slowdive’ (Dead Oceans)

Various Artists – ‘Cover Stories: Brandi Carlile Celebrates 10 Years of The Story – An Album to Benefit War Child’ (Legacy Records)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Kehlani, Migos And Japandroids

This week you’ve got the debut album from R&B newcomer Kehlani, Japandroids have finally followed up 2012’s ‘Celebration Rock’ and Migos have released ‘Culture’, a record which boasts appearances from DJ Khaled, Lil Uzi Vert, 2 Chainz and Travis Scott.

If none of that takes your fancy, make sure to have a gander at the rest of our pick of this week’s new releases below.

Allison Crutchfield – ‘Tourist In This Town’ (Merge)

Aquilo – ‘Silhouettes’ (Island)

Cloud Nothings – ‘Life Without Sound’ (Wichita)

Hawkwind – ‘The GWR Years: 1988-1991’ (Atomhenge)

Japandroids – ‘Near To The Wild Heart Of Life’ (Anti-)

Kehlani – ‘SWEETSEXYSAVAGE’ (Atlantic)

Lucy Spraggan – ‘I Hope you Don’t Mind Me Writing’ (Ctrl02)

Migos – ‘Culture’ (Quality Control Music)

Priests – ‘Nothing Feels Natural’ (Sister Polygon Records )

Sacred Paws – ‘Strike A Match’ (Rock Action)

Sam Duckworth – ‘Kingdoms’ (Xtra Mile Recordings)

Sleater-Kinney – ‘Live In Paris’ (Sub Pop/Inertia Music)

Toothless – ‘The Pace Of The Passing’ (Caroline/Island)

Train – ‘A Girl A Bottle A Boat’ (Columbia)

Ty Segall – ‘Ty Segall’ (Drag City)

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: PJ Harvey, Cate Le Bon And Blaqk Audio


We’re less than 24 hours away from this year’s Record Store Day and have some amazing albums for you to wrap your listening gear around. PJ Harvey is finally following up 2011’s Mercury Prize- winning ‘Let England Shake’, Cate Le Bon is racking up LP #4 and AFI’s Davey Havok and Jade Puget are releasing their third Blaqk Audio album.

But if they’re not for you then make sure to have a gander at the rest of our pick of this week’s bunch below.

Blaqk Audio – ‘Material’ (Blaqknoise/ Kobalt)

Boyce Avenue – ‘Road Less Traveled’ (Peace)

Cate Le Bon – ‘Crab Day’ (Turnstile/ Caroline)

The Coathangers – ‘Nosebleed Weekend’ (Suicide Squeeze Records)

Hawkwind – ‘The Machine Stops’ (Cherry Red)

J Dilla – ‘The Diary’ (Red UK)

Otep – ‘Generation Doom’ (Napalm)

PJ Harvey – ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ (Island)

Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop – ‘Love Letter For Fire’ (Sub Pop)

Santana – ‘Santana IV’ (Santana IV)

Surgical Meth Machine – ‘Surgical Meth Machine’ (Nuclear Blast)


Read More