Home > News & Reviews > Perfume Genius

Perfume Genius Announces 'Set My Heart On Fire Immediately' Remix Album

Thursday, 14 January 2021 Written by Laura Johnson

Perfume Genius has announced a new album, sort of.

'Immediately Remixes', out on February 19, will feature reworkings of all the tracks from his 2020 LP 'Set My Heart On Fire Immediately'. Contributing artists include Jaakko Eino Kaleivi, A .G . Cook, Jim-E Stack, Planningtorock, Jenny Hval, Initial Talk, Boy Harsher, Nídia, Danny L Harle, Westerman, Actress, Koreless and Katie Dey.

Mike Hadreas, aka Perfume Genius, said:

"I'm very honored to have all these incredible musicians rework these songs. I felt personally remixed listening to their versions, hearing the spirit of my song completely transformed was very magical. Each one feels like a little portal to a fucked up shared world."

Head below to check out a video for Boy Harsher's reinterpretation of Your Body Changes Everything, which stars model Teddy Quinlivan and Brandon Gray. The reworked track plays with an '80s electro vibe and suspenseful synths. Jae Matthews — one half of Boy Harsher and one of the clip's directors — explained:

“For the video, I wanted to create something that reflected my feelings of disconnect. Summer during Covid was complex - everyone was locked down, but so desperately wanted out. Screens and distance became the norm for casual interaction. Inspired by David Cronenberg's Videodrome (1983) and Tobe Hooper's Poltergeist  (1982), I developed this idea where a man becomes haunted by a beautiful alien - who can only access him through his television set. Long live the new flesh ! Luckily, Teddy Quinlivan was eager to participate from the very start and was a perfect cast for the flawless extraterrestrial. The desire within the video - the man wanting this cosmic babe so bad - matches the tone of the remix, especially during the sequences where she asks "Can you feel my love?" through the static on the TV.”

'IMMEDIATELY Remixes' tracklist:

1. Whole Life (Jaakko Eino Kalevi Remix)
2. Describe (A .G . Cook Remix)
3. Without You (Jim-E Stack Remix)
4. Jason (Planningtorock ‘Jason there’s no rush’ Remix)
5. Leave (Jenny Hval Remix)
6. On the Floor (Initial Talk Remix)
7. Your Body Changes Everything (Boy Harsher Remix)
8. Moonbend (Nídia Remix)
9. Just A Touch (Danny L Harle Remix)
10. Nothing At All (Westerman Rework)
11. One More Try (Actress Remix)
12. Some Dream (Koreless Remix)
13. Borrowed Light (Katie Dey Remix)


Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >