Home > News & Reviews > Chrissie Hynde

Chrissie Hynde Announces Covers Album 'Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan'

Tuesday, 11 May 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Chrissie Hynde has shared details of a new covers LP honouring Bob Dylan.

'Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan' will arrive on May 21 via BMG and feature nine renditions of Dylan's songs recorded by the vocalist and her Pretenders bandmate James Walbourne.

He would send ideas through his phone to Hynde, who would add her vocals, before Tchad Blake handled mixing. Among the record's tracklist are reworks of In the Summertime, You're A Big Girl Now, Standing In The Doorway, Don't Fall Apart On Me Tonight and Tomorrow Is A Long Time. Hynde said:

"A few weeks into lockdown last year, James sent me the new Dylan track Murder Most Foul. Listening to that song completely changed everything for me. I was lifted out of this morose mood that I'd been in.

"I remember where I was sitting the day that Kennedy was shot - every reference in the song. Whatever Bob does, he still manages somewhere in there to make you laugh because as much as anything, he's a comedian. He's always funny and always has something to say. That's when I called James and said, 'let's do some Dylan covers' and that's what started this whole thing."

An accompanying film called Tomorrow Is A Long Time, which details the recording process of the album, will air on Sky Arts on May 24, the day Dylan celebrates his 80th birthday.

'Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan' tracklist:

1. In The Summertime
2. You're A Big Girl Now
3. Standing In The Doorway
4. Sweetheart Like You
5. Blind Willie McTell
6. Love Minus Zero / No Limit
7. Don't Fall Apart On Me Tonight
8. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
9. Every Grain Of Sand

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >