Home > News & Reviews > PVRIS

PVRIS - Evergreen (Album Review)

Wednesday, 19 July 2023 Written by Will Marshall

Photo: Matty Vogel

In her work with PVRIS Lyndsey Gunnulfsen has never been bound by genre, but with the multi-instrumentalist’s new album ‘Evergreen’ any remaining lines between their alt-rock roots and pure, euphoric pop are erased completely. 

The opener I Don't Wanna Do This Anymore offers a stomping electro-pop hook while Good Enemy keeps up the pace, another club-ready heavy hitter adorned with staccato synth lines. Elsewhere, Goddess calls on listeners to have confidence in themselves and their bodies with its refrain of "dance goddess dance / it's your body / fuck the man." 

It is one of many empowering moments on ‘Evergreen’ and much of the first half of the album is like this: boisterous, confrontational and anthemic. But over time it becomes clear that this is a record of two distinct moods. 

Its second half eschews the belligerence to become more introspective and considered. "If I was sentimental / I'd be losing my mind," Gunnulfsen croons during the piano-laced, subtly funky Senti-Mental. Anywhere But Here, meanwhile, is even softer as acoustic guitars offer the backdrop to an emotional vocal.

The competing halves of ‘Evergreen’ are neatly tied together at its end as Love Is A… and the title track bring back some of the earlier intensity, but it’s all a little too neat and convenient. As well executed as this record is, the disconnect still jars. Embracing electro-pop works wonders in the more energetic moments, but the knock on effect is that the shift to a more sedate pace feels like failure to deliver on a promise.

PVRIS Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Fri August 18 2023 - SEATTLE Washington - Showbox SoDo (USA)
Sat August 19 2023 - PORTLAND Oregon - Crystal Ballroom (USA)
Tue August 22 2023 - SAN FRANCISCO California - Regency Ballroom (USA)
Thu August 24 2023 - LOS ANGELES California - Wiltern (USA)
Fri August 25 2023 - TEMPE Arizona - Marquee Theatre (USA)
Sat August 26 2023 - LAS VEGAS Nevada - Brooklyn Bowl (USA)
Mon August 28 2023 - SALT LAKE CITY Utah - Complex (USA)
Tue August 29 2023 - DENVER Colorado - Ogden Theatre (USA)
Fri September 01 2023 - SAN ANTONIO Texas - Aztec Theatre (USA)
Sat September 02 2023 - HOUSTON Texas - House of Blues (USA)
Sun September 03 2023 - OKLAHOMA CITY Oklahoma - Cains Ballroom (USA)
Wed September 06 2023 - KANSAS CITY Missouri - Truman (USA)
Thu September 07 2023 - MINNEAPOLIS Minnesota - First Avenue (USA)
Sat September 09 2023 - ST LOUIS Missouri - Pageant (USA)
Sun September 10 2023 - COLUMBUS Ohio - KEMBA Live (USA)
Wed September 13 2023 - PITTSBURGH Pennsylvania - Roxian Theater (USA)
Thu September 14 2023 - CLEVELAND Ohio - House of Blues (USA)
Fri September 15 2023 - TORONTO Ontario - History (Canada)

Compare & Buy PVRIS Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

NOTE FROM THE EDITOR

We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!


Let Us Know Your Thoughts




Related News

Fri 16 Feb 2024
PVRIS Enlist Tommy Genesis And Alice Longyu-Gao For New Single Burn The Witch
Fri 12 Jan 2024
PVRIS Tickets For UK, European And North American Tour Dates On Sale 10am Today
Tue 09 Jan 2024
PVRIS Announce UK, European And North American Tour Dates In Support Of 'Evergreen'
Thu 22 Jun 2023
PVRIS Share Title Track Of Fourth Album 'Evergreen'
Thu 18 May 2023
PVRIS Drop New Single Love Is A...
 
< Prev   Next >