Home > News & Reviews > Amon Amarth

Amon Amarth Announce New Album 'Berserker' And Share Lead Single Raven's Flight

Thursday, 21 March 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Amon Amarth have announced their 11th studio album, 'Berserker'.

Led by the monstrously heavy lead single, Raven's Flight, the follow up to 2016's 'Jomsviking' is due out on May 3. Comprising of 12 tracks, 'Berserker' was recorded at Sphere Studios, North Hollywood with producer Jay Ruston. Vocalist Johan Hegg said:

"For me, this is Amon Amarth 2.0. I think what we've done here is give ourselves the space to explore other parts of our musicality and who we are as a band. 

"If you're content with where you're at, what's the point of continuing? We always want to come up with new ideas and find new ways of doing things and to create bigger and better shows and really try to improve every aspect of what the band is.

"We want to try to keep growing and to do this for as long as we have the possibility to do so, because this is the best fucking job in the world."

Head below to view the album's epic cover art, tracklist and a Roboshobo-directed video for the new song, the first in a trilogy set to immerse the viewer further into the record's story. There's no major departures, it's everything you can hope for from Amon Amarth — a crushing live performance interspersed with twin guitar leads, a galloping rhythm and of course vikings and swords.

Additionally, Hegg and Dr Chris Tuckley from the Jorvik Viking Centre in York, explain the legend of the Berserker in a second clip posted below.

'Berserker' tracklist:

1. Fafner's Gold
2. Crack The Sky
3. Mjölner, Hammer Of Thor
4. Shield Wall
5. Valkyria
6. Raven's Flight
7. Ironside
8. The Berserker At Stamford Bridge
9. When Once Again We Can Set Our Sails
10. Skoll And Hati
11. Wings Of Eagles
12. Into The Dark

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Amon Amarth Confirm UK Dates With Arch Enemy As Part Of Autumn European Tour
Mon 17 Jun 2019
Amon Amarth are set to tour the UK and Europe this autumn.
Amon Amarth Unveil Video For New Song Crack The Sky
Wed 17 Apr 2019
Amon Amarth have released a second track from their upcoming 11th full-length,.
Amon Amarth Reveal Details Of Documentary And Live Album 'The Pursuit Of Vikings'
Fri 21 Sep 2018
Amon Amarth have announced their new documentary and supporting live album, 'The Pursuit Of Vikings: 25 Years In The Eye Of The Storm.'
Always Knowingly NSFW: Rammstein's History in Video Nasties
Thu 11 Jul 2019
Photo: © Jens Koch They aren't for everyone, apparently, but honestly what’s not to love about German industrial metal giants Rammstein? 
Stone Temple Pilots To Reissue 'Purple' For 25th Anniversary
Fri 07 Jun 2019
Stone Temple Pilots have announced a reissue of their 1984 album 'Purple'.
Rival Sons Announce Autumn UK Tour Including O2 Academy Brixton Show
Mon 10 Jun 2019
Rival Sons have announced plans to tour the UK this November.
Dragonforce Announce Autumn UK Tour
Tue 09 Jul 2019
Dragonforce have announced plans to tour the UK this autumn.
Wet Plate Portraits: Taking Back Sunday At O2 Academy Bristol
Wed 26 Jun 2019
td#right {display:none !important;} Photograph: Gareth Jarvis It’s been 20 years since Taking Back Sunday formed on Long Island, New York. From where we stand right now, we can look back over two decades of thrills, spills, emo classics, mosh pits, long hair, short hair, loud guitars and unadulterated singalongs that helped define the listening habits of a generation. Such a milestone is worth celebrating, and these guys know the perfect way to do so.
< Prev   Next >