Home > News & Reviews > Alice Cooper

Alice Cooper Lines Up February Release For New Album 'Detroit Stories'

Wednesday, 11 November 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: earMUSIC

Alice Cooper has shared details of his new studio album.

'Detroit Stories' will arrive on February 26 via earMUSIC and feature the upcoming single Rock'n'Roll, due out this Friday (November 13).

Inspired by the early '70's rock scene in Detroit — the city that launched the original Alice Cooper Band to stardom — the LP was produced by Bob Ezrin, who worked with the shock rock icon during his early years. It boasts contributions from the likes of Wayne Kramer of the MC5, Johnny "Bee" Badanjek of the Detroit Wheels, jazz and R&B bassist Paul Randolph, and the Motor City Horns, among others. Cooper said:

"Detroit was Heavy Rock central then. You’d play the Eastown and it would be Alice Cooper, Ted Nugent, the Stooges and the Who, for $4! The next weekend at the Grande it was MC5, Brownsville Station and Fleetwood Mac, or Savoy Brown or the Small Faces. You couldn’t be a soft-rock band or you’d get your ass kicked.

"Los Angeles had its sound with The Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield. San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had The Rascals and The Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the birthplace of angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the US (musically or image wise) Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound and our crazy stage show. Detroit was a haven for the outcasts. And when they found out I was born in East Detroit... we were home."

Head below to view the record's artwork and tracklist. It follows the legendary rocker's 2019 'Breadcrumbs' EP and the single Don’t Give Up, released in response to the Covid-19 pandemic back in May. His last full-length was 2017's 'Paranormal'.

'Detroit Stories' tracklist:

1. Rock'n'Roll
2. Go Man Go
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Tue 18 May 2021
Alice Cooper Announces Fall US Tour With Ace Frehley
Tue 09 Mar 2021
Alice Cooper - Detroit Stories (Album Review)
Thu 04 Feb 2021
Alice Cooper Celebrates Birthday With New Track Social Debris
Fri 11 Dec 2020
Alice Cooper Shares New Song Our Love Will Change The World
< Prev   Next >