Home > News & Reviews > The Cribs

The Cribs Share New Song In The Room, Detail Deluxe Reissues Of First Three Albums

Thursday, 26 May 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

The Cribs have released a new rarity.

In The Room arrives along with details of a comprehensive reissue programme of the Wakefield trio's first three albums; 2004's 'The Cribs', 2005's 'The New Fellas', and 2007's 'Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever', all due out on July 29.

Comprising angular guitars, a danceable beat, and a shout-along hook, the previously unheard track was recorded during the sessions for 'The New Fellas' with Edwyn Collins. The band said:

"We had honestly forgotten that this song existed until we received our original master tapes back…we know that sounds disingenuous, but it’s true! Life was so chaotic and fast-moving back then that we never really had the chance to go back and revisit things - everything was very in the moment, which is probably why this one was able to fall through the cracks.

"It’s really cool to finally hear it completed after all these years. Hearing it back for the first time was a surreal experience for us - like a message to our future selves from the past. It is a pretty classic example of what we were doing and where we were coming from back in those days - much like Hey Scenesters! or Mirror Kissers in the fact that it is lyrically quite reactive and upfront. We would usually just write the lyrics in the moment, to reflect what was going on around us at the time, documentary-style - and so as unlikely as it sounds, this song probably only existed for the couple of hours that we originally worked on it, and was then forgotten about once we went back out on one of our endless tours. We think people who like that era of The Cribs will dig it, and we are really happy that we can bring them something new from those days…hopefully, they get as big a kick out of it as we did!"

The LPs will be reissued on limited edition coloured vinyl, with 'Definitive Edition' 2CD editions containing previously unheard songs, out-takes, demos, sessions, covers and remixes. All three albums will also be available on cassette for the first time. They added:

"After working so hard to reclaim the rights to our masters, we wanted to make sure that these reissues were done right… that they would be the definitive editions of these records, rather than just a run of the mill re-press.

"So we spent the last year digging through old boxes and drawers, session notes…even old email accounts to ensure that you guys get EVERYTHING! Every b-side, every unheard session, every demo tape from our first to our last…plus much more, all lovingly remastered from the original tapes (and a few mini-discs, if we are honest…) We just wanna say that we are so proud and grateful to be in the position that, 15 years on, people still care about these albums - we cannot tell you how much this means.

"Throughout the ups and downs of the intervening years, it has always been our hardcore audience that has sustained us, and we appreciate you more than you will ever know. So, first and foremost, these editions are for you guys…the kinda people who will appreciate hearing ‘Song From Practice 1’ actually live from practice 1…we hope we did you proud."

In August 2021, the group released their Sonic Blew Singles Club series, which ran monthly until the end of that year. Their last studio album was 2020's 'Night Network'. They're currently touring North America as special guests for Modest Mouse.

'The Cribs' tracklist:

1. The Watch Trick
2. You Were Always The One
3. The Lights Went Out
4. You & I
5. Things You Should Be Knowing
6. Another Number
7. What About Me
8. Learning How To Fight
9. Tri’elle
10. Baby Don’t Sweat
11. Direction
12. Third Outing

Bonus Material:

1. Fevers and Seizures
2. Feelin’ It
3. Song From Practice 1
4. Another Number (Bobby Conn Session)
5. What About Me (Bobby Conn Session)
6. Baby Don’t Sweat (Bobby Conn Session)
7. Third Outing (Bobby Conn Session)
8. Another Number (Original Demo)
9. On The Floor (Original Demo)
10. You & I (Original Demo)
11. Death To The Dead Bodies (Original Demo)
12. Third Outing (Original Demo)
13. Tri’elle (Original Demo)
14. Feelin’ It (Original Demo)
15. I Gotta Go To L.A. (Original Demo)
17. Baby Don’t Sweat (Squirrel 7” Version)
18. What About Me (Demo)
19. Run A Mile
20. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?
21. Death To The Dead Bodies (4-Track Demo)
22. Feelin’ It (4-Track Demo)
23. Song From Practice 1 (4-Track Demo)

'The New Fellas' tracklist:

1. Hey Scenesters!
2. I’m Alright Me
3. Martell
4. Mirror Kissers
5. We Can No Longer Cheat You
6. It Was Only Love
7. The New Fellas
8. Hello? Oh…
9. The Wrong Way To Be
10. Haunted
11. Things Aren’t Gonna Change

Bonus Material:

1. In The Room
2. Lost In The Crowd
3. You’re Gonna Lose Us
4. To Jackson
5. North Of England
6. It Happened So Fast
7. Happy’s Just A State Of Mind And A State Of Mind Is Just Electrical Impulses
8. Saturday Night Facts Of Life
9. I’m Still Blaming You
10. Advice From A Roving Artist
11. I Was Her Man But I Done Her Wrong
12. Modern Way
13. I’m Alright Me (Greenmount Demo)
14. Things Aren’t Gonna Change (Greenmount Demo)
15. Martell (Demo)
16. We Can No Longer Cheat You (Demo)
17. It Was Only Love (Demo)
18. The New Fellas (Demo)
19. Hello? Oh… (Demo)
20. The Wrong Way To Be (Demo)
21. Things Aren’t Gonna Change (Demo)
22. You’re Gonna Lose Us (Demo)

'Men's Needs, Women's Needs, Whatever' tracklist:

1. Our Bovine Public
2. Girls Like Mystery
3. Men’s Needs
4. Moving Pictures
5. I’m A Realist
6. Major’s Titling Victory
7. Women’s Needs
8. I’ve Tried Everything
9. My Life Flashed Before My Eyes
10. Be Safe
11. Ancient History
12. Shoot The Poets

Bonus Material:

1. It Happened So Fast (Vancouver Version)
2. To Jackson (Vancouver Version)
3. Don’t You Wanna Be Relevant?
4. Fairer Sex
5. Tonight
6. Get Yr Hands Out My Grave
7. Kind Words From The Broken Hearted
8. My Adolescent Dreams
9. Bastards Of Young
10. I’ve Tried Everything (Acoustic)
11. Men’s Needs (CSS Remix)
12. I’m A Realist (The Postal Service Remix)
13. Our Bovine Public (Demo)
14. Men’s Needs (Demo)
15. Moving Pictures (Demo)
16. I’m A Realist (Demo)
17. MTV (Demo)
18. My Life Flashed Before My Eyes (Demo)
19. Ancient History (Demo)
20. Tonight (Demo)
21. I’ve Tried Everything (Demo)
22. Shoot The Poets (Demo)
23. Be Safe (Rehearsal Tape For Lee)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Wed 22 Feb 2023
The Cribs To Headline New One-Day London Festival TiffCuff
< Prev   Next >