This Week’s New Releases: White Lies, Bad Boy Chiller Crew And Beach House

Are you stuck in due to Storm Eunice? We’ve got plenty of new music to keep you occupied this week. White Lies have put out their sixth studio LP, there’s a new mixtape from the Bradford hip hop group Bad Boy Chiller Crew, and Beach House have released their first album in four years.

Still want more? Head below.

Bad Boy Chiller Crew – ‘Disrespectful’ (Relentless/Sony/House Anxiety)

Beach House – ‘Once Twice Melody’ (Bella Union)

The Body & OAA – ‘Enemy Of Love’ (Thrill Jockey)

Eric Chenaux – ‘Say Laura’ (Constellation)

Gregor Barnett – ‘Don’t Go Throwing Roses In My Grave’ (Epitaph)

Josef Salvat – ‘Islands’ (Leafy Outlook)

Methyl Ethel – ‘Are You Haunted?’ (Future Classic)

Metronomy – ‘Small World’ (Because)

Modern Studies – ‘We Are There’ (Fire Records)

Oliver Tree – ‘Cowboy Tears’ (Atlantic)

Pan American – ‘The Patience Fader’ (Krank)

Sally Shapiro – ‘Sad Cities’ (Italians Do It Better)

Sarah Shook and the Disarmers – ‘Nightroamer’ (Abeyance/Thirty Tigers)

Sea Power – ‘Everything Was Forever’ (Golden Chariot)

Shout Out Louds – ‘House’ (Rutan Tutan HB)

Shovels & Rope – ‘Manticore’ (Dualtone)

Swami John Reis – ‘Ride The Wild Night’ (Swami)

Tame Impala – ‘The Slow Rush B-Sides & Remixes’ (Island/Modular)

Various Artists – ‘Ocean Child: Songs Of Yoko Ono’ (Canvasback Music/Atlantic)

White Lies – ‘AS I Try Not To Fall Apart’ ([PIAS])

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: ​Chaka Khan, Millencolin And SWMRS

It’s another busy one. The Queen Of Funk, aka Chaka Khan, has put out her first new full-length in 12 years, skate-punk legends Millencolin have dropped the follow up to 2015’s ‘True Brew’ and the Bay Area band SWMRS have released their second album.

Not enough for ya? Take a look below.

Aqualung – ‘Additional Futures’ EP (Okey-Donkey)

Avantasia – ‘Moonglow’ (Nuclear Blast)

Avril Lavigne – ‘Head Above Water’ (BMG)

​Betty Who – ‘Betty’ (AWAL Recordings America, Inc)

​Chaka Khan – ‘Hello Happiness’ (Island)

Czarface & Ghostface Killah – ‘Czarface Meets Ghostface’ (Silver Age)

Florida Georgia Line – ‘Can’t Say I Ain’t Country’ (Big Machine)

Hajk – ‘Drama’ (Jansen Records)

Hayes Carll – ‘What It Is’ (Dualton)

Jon Fratelli – ‘Bright Night Flowers’ (Cooking Vinyl)

Ladytron – ‘Ladytron’ (Ladytron)

The Long Ryders – ‘Psychedelic Country Soul’ (Cherry Red)

Mantra – ‘Dreamland’ (Dine Alone Records)

Methyl Ethel – ‘Triage’ (4AD)

Millencolin – ‘SOS’ (Epitaph)

Picture This – ‘MDRN LV’ (Republic Records)

Piroshka – ‘Brickbat’ (Bella Union)

Ryan Bingham – ‘American Love Song’ (Thirty Tigers)

SWMRS – ‘Berkeley’s On Fire’ (Fueled By Ramen)

Tedeschi Trucks Band – ‘Signs’ (Fantasy/Concord)

Tourist – ‘Everyday’ (Monday Records)

Wicca Phase Springs Eternal – ‘Suffer On’ (Run For Cover)

Woman’s Hour – ‘Ephyra’ (Practise)

Yann Tiersen – ‘All’ (Mute)

Read More

Things We Love This Week: Methyl Ethel, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, LCD Soundsystem

First on the list of for Things We Love This Week is a new track from Muse! Just kidding. It’s terrible. If you want some delicious musical things that aren’t embarrassing, head below.

Methyl Ethel – Scream Whole

A juicy, sensual new pop track from the Australian band, whose most famous song so far asked us “Why’d you have to go and cut your hair?” The new release combines overlapping vocal harmonies and a catchy bassline to create a sound that wouldn’t be out of place on a Metronomy record, and the off-beat, reverberating synths, for whatever reason, make you feel like you’re in a haunted house. Its accompanying video focuses on the senses. Check it out.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Hanoi 6

Ruban Neilson is releasing an instrumental album. The recording of UMO’s latest release, ‘Sex and Food’, saw travels across the world including stops in Seoul, Hanoi, Reykjavik, Mexico City and Auckland, as well as his hometown of Portland. While visiting these far-flung destinations, Neilson recorded what he heard along the way, and ended up doing live sessions with local musicians, his brother and father in a studio in Hanoi.

These sessions became ‘IC-01 Hanoi’, a new supplementary release. On the first cut, it’s clear to hear the worldly influences, flecks of jazz and the avant-garde, wrapped up in a distinct feeling of the warm rain and thunder of a monsoon. Want.

LCD Soundsystem – Oh Baby Video

With a weekly column, there’s always a risk of repetition if bands you love keep releasing awesome stuff. Despite my pitiful attempts to keep it varied, I couldn’t resist dropping this sucker-punch of a video in this week. LCD Soundsystem are still at the forefront of whichever category you want to place them in, with last year’s ‘American Dream’ being an all-round banger.

This week came a video for the opener, Oh Baby, and oh baby, will it get you in the feels. Directed by Rian Johnson, fresh from Star Wars: The Last Jedi, it finds a husband and wife (played by  David Strathairn and Sissy Spacek) working tirelessly on a vague scientific experiment or invention of some sort. No spoilers. Watch the rest.

Au revoir x

Read More

This Week’s New Releases: Ed Sheeran, Grandaddy And Sleaford Mods

We said last week was bonkers and, well, this week the madness continues! Ed Sheeran has finally followed up 2014’s ‘x’, Grandaddy have returned with their first new material since 2006’s ‘Just Like The Fambly Cat’ and Sleaford Mods have released the highly-anticipated ‘English Tapas’.

If none of that floats your boat then cast your eye over the below selection.

Alexis Taylor – ‘Listen With(out) Piano’ (Moshi Moshi)

Alice Jemima – ‘Alice Jemima’ (Sunday Best Recordings)

Alison Krauss – ‘Windy City’ (Decca)

Blanck Mass – ‘World Eater’ (Sacred Bones)

Bleached – ‘Can You Deal?’ EP (Dead Oceans)

Ed Sheeran – ‘÷’ (Asylum/Atlantic Records)

Fránçois and the Atlas Mountains – ‘Solide Mirage’ (Domino)

Grandaddy – ‘Last Place’ (Columbia)

Methyl Ethel – ‘Everything Is Forgotten’ (4AD)

Minus The Bear – ‘Voids’ (Suicide Squeeze Records)

ShitKid – ‘EP 2’ (PNKSLM Recordings)

Sleaford Mods – ‘English Tapas’ (Rough Trade)

Strong Asian Mothers – ‘Animal’ EP (self-released)

Temples – ‘Volcano’ (Heavenly)

Why? – ‘Moh Lhean’ (Joyful Noise Recordings)

Read More