Home > News & Reviews > The Safety Fire

The Safety Fire Announce New Album 'Mouth Of Swords'

Wednesday, 05 June 2013 Written by Jon Stickler

London progressive metallers The Safety Fire have announced the release of their forthcoming second album, entitled ‘Mouth Of Swords’, on the 2 September 2013.

The band has been hard at work on the album for the past few months, and vocalist Sean McWeeney had this to say about the completion of the record: 

"Since our first album we've all concentrated more on having awesome haircuts and facial hair. Does that go some way to explaining whyMouth of Swords is shit hot? Some may suggest so. But all I know is I'm on it and that's enough for most people. This album is pure gold, and will be priced accordingly."

Guitarist and producer Derya ‘Dez’ Nagle had this to add about the release announcement and album recording: 

"I must have said "there is no topping Winger's 1988 classic 'Winger' " on a daily basis during the recording process. I've never been wrong about anything in my whole life, so it was a rather humbling experience to realise that what we were creating was in fact better than Winger's 1988 classic, 'Winger'. I felt like a bozo deluxe. After a while I came to accept that we had created the best album of all time, ever, in the history of known time. The burden of holding such musical gold was too much for us to handle and the band agreed to release it through InsideOut Music, on September 2nd. I'd like to think the music can speak for itself, but music can't speak, so I'll speak on its behalf. Hello. I hope you enjoy me."

The band have also announced the album’s full tracklisting, and as you will see below, Tommy Rogers from touring partners Between The Buried And Me has provided guest vocals on one track.

1. Mouth Of Swords
2. Glass Crush
3. Yellowism
4. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers (Between The Buried and Me)
5. Red Hatchet
6. Wise Hands
7. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring
8. I Am Time, The Destroyer
9. Old Souls

The Safety Fire has been documenting the recording process of ‘Mouth Of Swords’, and you can find the four recent studio diaries for your viewing pleasure over at the band's official YouTube Channel.

‘Mouth Of Swords’ follows the release of last years acclaimed debut album ‘Grind The Ocean’, which saw them tour the world with the likes Periphery, Between The Buried And Me, Gojira and Protest The Hero amongst others.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

The Safety Fire Unveil Mouth Of Swords Video
Mon 25 Nov 2013
The Safety Fire have unveiled a music video for their track Mouth Of Swords.
The Safety Fire Reveal Video For Yellowism
Mon 22 Jul 2013
Progressive metallers the Safety Fire are gearing up for the release of their forthcoming second album ‘Mouth Of Swords’ on September 2, and have also premiered the video for Yellowism.
The Safety Fire Post Video For Red Hatchet - Watch Here
Mon 08 Jul 2013
London-based progressive metal band the Safety Fire have revealed the music video for Red Hatchet, the first track to be taken from their forthcoming album ‘Mouth Of Swords’ which is due out on September 2.
< Prev   Next >