Home > News & Reviews > Selling

Gold Panda And Simian Mobile Disco's Jas Shaw Release Surprise Collaborative Album

Wednesday, 10 October 2018 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Laura Lewis

Gold Panda and Simion Mobile Disco's Jas Shaw have combined under the moniker Selling and released their debut album.

The two giants of the electronic world have dropped 'On Reflection' digitally with a physical release set for December 14 through City Slang. Across its nine tracks and 42 minutes, 'On Reflection' showcases the duo’s full mastery of the genre, moving seamlessly from undulating, driving washed-out techno to shimmering electronics. 

The decision to release the record immediately was informed, in part, by the fact that Selling currently have no plans to tour or play live. Earlier this year, Shaw was diagnosed with AL amyloidosis, and is receiving chemotherapy treatment - which currently severely limits his ability to travel, and as a result of which Simian Mobile Disco had to cancel their touring for 2018.

The duo have also shared a video for the album's lead single, Keeping Txme. Derwin Dicker, aka Gold Panda, revealed that the track was the point where the two felt they had really nailed down the creative process. "It was the 15th or 16th track we made but it was the first track where we did it and it felt finished as soon as we were done. And then it was like, 'this is good, let’s do more.'"

'On Reflection'

1. Qprism
2. Dicker's Dream
3. No Reflection
4. Mirror Can Only Lie
5. Phone Call From the Future
6. Keeping Txme
7. Shimmer
8. Moon in Water
9. You Can Have it Immediately

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

< Prev   Next >