Home > News & Reviews > Venom Prison

Venom Prison Announce New Album 'Samsara', Unveil Video For New Track Uterine Industrialisation

Friday, 15 February 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Venom Prison have returned with the first cut from their upcoming sophomore album.

The death metal upstarts will put out 'Samsara' on March 15 via Prosthetic Records, following up their acclaimed 2016 debut, 'Animus'. The news arrives with vicious new track Uterine Industrialisation, which lyrically deals with the "industrialisation of the uterus" and "usurpation of motherhood."

The album takes its title from the Buddhist concept of being reborn into a never-ending cycle of suffering, while the 10 tracks contained also confront homophobia and transphobia. Speaking to Metal Hammer, vocalist Larissa Stupar said:

"This one is going to be a lot more personal for me, because I've been suffering from depression for the last few years now and I’ve been going through some really hard times. I just wanted to write down and communicate those feelings. I read somewhere that if you express those thoughts it feels better as you stop carrying it.

But I've also written songs about homophobia and transphobia. Basically, the whole record is about suffering, whether it is societal suffering or internal suffering. I wanted to express those feelings."

Head below to view the album's cover art, designed by Eliran Kantor, as well as its tracklist. There's also a stomach-churning video for the new track.

'Samsara' tracklist:

1. Matriphagy
2. Megillus & Leana
3. Uterine Industrialisation
4. Self Inflicted Violence
5. Deva's Enemy
6. Asura's Realm
7. Sadistic Rituals
8. Implementing The Metaphysics Of Morals
9. Dukkha
10. Naraka

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Venom Prison Share New Track Asura's Realm From Upcoming Album 'Samsara'
Thu 14 Mar 2019
Venom Prison have released another track from their imminent sophomore record.
Pity The Nameless: Venom Prison Discuss The Egalitarian Brutality of 'Samsara'
Tue 12 Mar 2019
“It doesn’t matter how bright we shine, the darkness always takes over,” begins guitarist Ash Gray, whose band, Venom Prison, are one of the bleakest in modern death metal. That said, after analysing the state of contemporary society on their new album ‘Samsara’, their nihilistic outlook is justified.
Venom Prison Share Live Video For Devoid
Thu 22 Feb 2018
Venom Prison have released a live video for Devoid.
Headie One Announces Autumn Headline Tour And New Project 'Music X Road'
Fri 21 Jun 2019
Headie One has announced plans to tour the UK this autumn.
Johnny Marr, Jungle, Viagra Boys Among New Additions To Line Up For Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival
Tue 11 Jun 2019
More acts have been added to the line up for Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival.
Stereolab Postpone Sheffield And Manchester Shows
Tue 18 Jun 2019
Stereolab have postponed their Sheffield and Manchester dates.
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno Announces Solo Album 'The S.L.P.', Plots UK Tour
Fri 21 Jun 2019
Serge Pizzorno of Kasabian has announced his debut solo album.
Sinkane - Dépaysé (Album Review)
Mon 10 Jun 2019
Photo: Daniel Dorsa ‘Dépaysé’ is a fantastical showcase of Afro-infused psychedelic indie-rock that demonstrates vaunting musical ambition, political awareness and immense talent in both its arrangement and composition.
< Prev   Next >