Home > News & Reviews > Jon Hopkins

Jon Hopkins Realeases New Piano Composition Scene Suspended

Thursday, 06 February 2020 Written by Laura Johnson

Photo: Steve Gullick

Jon Hopkins has shared a new piano composition.

Scene Suspended began its life as an improvisation, but was later recorded by Hopkins at Air Studios in London, with added violin arrangements courtesy of Emma Smith. Discussing how it differs from his 2018 album 'Singularity', he said:

“The main tracks on 'Singularity' were built of hundreds of layers and processes, and took nearly two years to build. Following on from this I’ve been craving a return to simplicity, to acoustic sound and to the instrument I grew up playing. In order to express similar themes but to use as little as possible to achieve this the only sound sources on “Scene Suspended” are piano and violin."

Hopkins will hit the road in March for his Polarity Tour, which includes stops in Edinburgh, Gateshead, Dublin, Manchester, Bath, Brighton and London, where he'll play the Royal Albert Hall.

Jon Hopkins Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed March 04 2020 - EDINBURGH Usher Hall
Thu March 05 2020 - GATESHEAD Sage
Fri March 06 2020 - DUBLIN Bord Gais Energy Theatre
Fri March 13 2020 - MANCHESTER Bridgewater Hall
Sat March 14 2020 - BATH Forum
Sun March 15 2020 - BRIGHTON Brighton Dome Concert Hall
Wed March 18 2020 - LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Fri June 05 2020 - LONDON Boston Manor Park
Sat July 25 2020 - GALWAY Festival Big Top - Galway
Fri March 20 2020 - PARIS Salle Pleyel (France)
Wed March 25 2020 - COPENHAGEN DR Koncerthuset (Denmark)
Thu March 26 2020 - STOCKHOLM Gota Lejon (Sweden)
Fri March 27 2020 - OSLO Sentrum Scene (Norway)
Sun March 29 2020 - HELSINKI Helsinki Music Centre (Finland)
Tue March 31 2020 - HAMBURG Laeiszhalle (Germany)
Wed April 01 2020 - BRUSSELS Cirque Royal (Belgium)
Thu April 02 2020 - BERLIN Philharmonie (Germany)

Click here to compare & buy Jon Hopkins Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Mon 09 Sep 2019
Jon Hopkins Announces UK and European Polarity Tour For 2020
 
< Prev   Next >