Home > News & Reviews > Welsh Music Prize

Deyah Wins Welsh Music Prize 2020 For 'Care City'

Thursday, 19 November 2020 Written by Laura Johnson

Deyah has won the Welsh Music Prize for 'Care City', a record she released through her own label High Mileage, Low Life that mixes spoken word, rap and soul. 

The rapper and singer — who previously operated under the NoNameDisciple moniker — saw off competition from Ani Glass, Colorama, Cotton Wolf, Don Leisure, Georgia Ruth, Gruff Rhys, Islet, Keys, Kidsmoke, Los Blancos, Luke RV, Right Hand Left Hand, Silent Forum, and Yr Ods to succeed last year’s winners, Adwaith, who took home the gong for 'Melyn'.

Returning for its 10th year with an increased shortlist of 15 albums, the award recognises the best in creativity from the growing Welsh music scene. In place of its usual Cardiff-based celebrations, the winner was announced via a livestream ceremony due to COVID-19 restrictions. 

The 2020 judging panel featured Polly James (Radio X), Gemma Cairney (BBC Radio/author), Mark Sutherland (Music Week), Daniel Minty (Minty’s Gig Guide), Ffion Wyn (Ladies of Rage), Angharad Jenkins (musician/composer), Emma Zilmann (Bluedot/Kendal Calling), and Sian Eleri Evans (BBC Radio Cymru/Folded Wing).

The Triskel Award, which was introduced last year and is presented to acts that have "a bright future for music in Wales", was given to Eädyth, Mace The Great, and Malan.


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Mon 03 Oct 2022
Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard, Gwenno, Manic Street Preachers Among Names On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
Tue 23 Nov 2021
Kelly Lee Owens Wins Welsh Music Prize 2021 For 'Inner Song'
Wed 27 Oct 2021
Gruff Rhys, The Anchoress, Afro Cluster Among Names On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
< Prev   Next >