Home > News & Reviews > She and Him

She And Him Announce New Album 'Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson', Release First Single Darlin'

Wednesday, 18 May 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Chantal Anderson

She And Him, the collaborative duo of M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel, have announced a Brian Wilson covers album.

'Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson' will arrive on July 22 via Fantasy Records, and marks the duo's first full-length in six years.

The pair have a history with Wilson, including appearances on his 2015 LP 'No Pier Pressure'. The legendary singer-songwriter also guests on the new record, on She And Him's version of Do It Again. Wilson said:

"Zooey and Matt did such mind-blowing versions of our songs. The harmonies are beautiful and right on. I love this record!"

The twosome said: "In the spring of 2020, we started a list of our favorite Brian songs — a very long list. We chose songs without any regard to their chart performance. The obscure ones hit us just as hard as the more popular songs — and all are ripe for re-imagining, re-interpreting, and re-inventing. Brian writes songs of beauty and loneliness and vulnerability better than anyone — and by sequencing them next to popular songs of confidence and love and fun, it creates a more complete picture of life on earth."

As a preview, they've shared their version of 1967's Darlin' as the album's first single. Staying true to the original cut, Ward handles guitar and bass, while Deschanel holds down the backing vocals, with the lead vocals split between the two, who harmonize effortlessly. Head below to view the Lara Jean Gallagher-directed video.

They'll support the release with a North American tour, during which they'll perform original songs along with classics penned by The Beach Boys founder. It kicks off on June 13 in Denver, Colorado. Head here for details.

'Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson' tracklist:

1. Darlin’
2. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
3. Til I Die
4. Deirdre
5. Melt Away
6. Good To My Baby
7. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
8. Don’t Worry Baby
9. This Whole World
10. Kiss Me, Baby
11. Do It Again (Feat. Brian Wilson)
12. Heads You Win, Tails I Lose
13. Please Let Me Wonder
14. Meant For You


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >