Home > News & Reviews > The Arcs

The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach Announces First The Arcs Album In Eight Years 'Electrophonic Chronic'

Thursday, 13 October 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Alysse Gafkjen

Dan Auerbach side project The Arcs have announced a new album.

'Electrophonic Chronic' marks the band's first full-length in eight years, and was recorded between The Black Keys frontman's Nashville Easy Eye Sound studio and Electric Lady and the Diamond Mind in New York.

The follow up to their 2015 debut 'Yours, Dreamily' will arrive on January 27 via Auerbach's own label Easy Eye Sound. It was mostly recorded prior to the 2018 passing of bandmate Richard Swift, with the line-up completed by Auerbach, Leon Michels, Nick Movshon, and Homer Steinweiss. Auerbach said in a press release:

"This new record is all about honoring Swift. It’s a way for us to say goodbye to him, by revisiting him playing and laughing, singing. It was heavy at times, but I think it was really helpful to do it."

To accompany the news, The Arcs have shared the first single and the record's opener, Keep On Dreamin, a jazz-influenced psych-rock track that comes paired with an animated video by Robert "Roboshobo" Schober. 

“Whether it was New York City or Nashville or L.A. or Swift's hometown of Cottage Grove, Oregon, wherever we were, we would always get in the studio together," Auerbach commented. "Always. It was our favorite thing to do. It’s rare that you meet a group of people that you click with like that, who you instantly bond with. We were just having fun, making sounds, making music. It was an amazing time for me."

"There are probably between 80 and 100 tracks that we laid down, because we just constantly recorded after we put out Yours, Dreamily,” Michels added. "It was so much fun to be in the studio once again, so we were just making music all the time. I think there was always a plan to make a follow-up record."

'Electrophonic Chronic' tracklist:

1. Keep On Dreamin
2. Eyez
3. Heaven Is A Place
4. Califone Interlude
5. River
6. Sunshine
7. A Man Will Do Wrong
8. Behind The Eyes
9. Backstage Mess
10. Sporting Girls Interlude
11. Love Doesn’t Live Here Anymore
12. Only One For Me


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Thu 02 Feb 2023
The Arcs - Electrophonic Chronic (Album Review)
< Prev   Next >