Home > News & Reviews > White Lies

White Lies Share New Single Breakdown Days

Thursday, 13 October 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Charles Cave

White Lies have released a new single called Breakdown Days.

Following Trouble In America, it's the second of four new songs to be lifted from the upcoming bonus edition of their latest album, 'As I Try Not To Fall Apart', which is scheduled to arrive digitally on October 21. The record was originally released back in February.

Anchored by a looping, menacing piano melody, the dark pop tune builds to an ethereal synth-based chorus. The band's Harry McVeigh commented:

"Breakdown Days was written in the heart of the first UK lockdown. The song reflects my mood at the time, I felt trapped in many ways not being able to tour or to work. The lyrics are about yearning to reach out about your problems but because you're living together, in close quarters, it means you can’t totally lose your shit! I always enjoy dressing up quite dark lyrics in a pop song and I love the contrast in this track. I’m sure we all dress ourselves up sometimes!"

'As I Try Not To Fall Apart' (bonus edition) tracklist:

1.   Am I Really Going To Die
2.   As I Try Not To Fall Apart
3.   Breathe
4.   I Don’t Want To Go To Mars
5.   Step Outside
6.   Roll December
7.   Ragworm
8.   Blue Drift
9.   The End
10. There Is No Cure For It
11. Trouble In America (bonus track)
12. What If We’re Bad Together (bonus track)
13. Staring At The Sun (bonus track)
14. Breakdown Days (bonus track)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >