Home > News & Reviews > Muncie Girls

Muncie Girls Share New Song Locked Up And North American Dates

Thursday, 02 August 2018 Written by Jon Stickler

Muncie Girls have announced North American tour dates and shared a new song.

Locked up is the latest track to emerge from the UK pop-punk trio's sophomore record, 'Fixed Ideals', following previously shared singles Falling Down and Picture of Health. It clocks in at just two minutes and finds vocalist Lande Hekt questioning our fucked up society. She said in a statement:

"I’ve never felt like I fit in to 'normal' life and I often find myself trying to articulate/make sense of it. I wrote a list of a lot of things that I find bizarre and overwhelming about (my version of) society that we’re expected to not only accept, but celebrate. It’s kind of depressing really. It has a lot to do with growing up as well and the horrors of being a weird teenage girl.

"The line, 'I can’t be the only one to see the ghost in the room' is in there because my friend said that she’d heard someone say something similar about veganism. The chorus is about how we get trapped by what we don’t question, but it’s also about the prison system and it’s about being claustrophobic, which was in part inspired by my love of the song Franklin Prison Blues by Onsind. The guitar riff at the start I came up with when I was listening to a lot of the Replacements."

The follow up to 2016's 'From Caplan to Belsize' is out on August 31 through Specialist Subject and the band will accompany the release with a UK and European tour towards the end of September and into October.

They will then cross the pond for eight North American shows, including stops in Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Boston, Toronto, Chicago, Seattle, Portland and Los Angeles during November. Tickets go on general sale at 10am on August 3.

Muncie Girls Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed September 26 2018 - MANCHESTER Deaf Institute (United Kingdom)
Thu September 27 2018 - BIRMINGHAM Cuban Embassy (United Kingdom)
Fri September 28 2018 - NOTTINGHAM Rock City - The Basement (United Kingdom)
Sat September 29 2018 - NEWCASTLE Think Tank Underground (United Kingdom)
Sun September 30 2018 - GLASGOW Glasgow Garage (United Kingdom)
Mon October 01 2018 - LONDON Borderline (United Kingdom)
Tue October 02 2018 - NORWICH UEA Waterfront Studio (United Kingdom)
Wed October 03 2018 - SOUTHAMPTON Joiners (United Kingdom)
Mon October 08 2018 - ANTWERP JC Bouckenborgh (Belgium)
Fri October 19 2018 - COLOGNE Autonomes Zentrum (Germany)
Sat October 20 2018 - FURTH Kunstkeller (Germany)
Sun October 21 2018 - REGENSBURG Alte Mälzerei (Germany)
Mon October 22 2018 - MUNICH Kafe Marat (Germany)
Tue October 23 2018 - STUTTGART JuHa West (Germany)
Thu October 25 2018 - HAMBURG Astra Stube (Germany)
Fri October 26 2018 - BRAUNSCHWEIG B58 (Germany)
Sat October 27 2018 - BERLIN Cassiopeia (Germany)
Tue October 30 2018 - WIENER NEUSTADT Triebwerk (Austria)
Wed October 31 2018 - GRAZ Sub (Austria)
Mon November 05 2018 - BROOKLYN New York - Elsewhere Zone One (USA)
Tue November 06 2018 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Boot and Saddle (USA)
Wed November 07 2018 - BOSTON Massachusetts - O'Brien's Pub (USA)
Fri November 09 2018 - TORONTO Ontario - Baby G (Canada)
Sun November 11 2018 - CHICAGO Illinois - Cobra Lounge (USA)
Tue November 13 2018 - SEATTLE Washington - Funhouse (USA)
Wed November 14 2018 - PORTLAND Oregon - Hawthorne Theatre Lounge (USA)
Sat November 17 2018 - LOS ANGELES California - Bootleg Theater - Bar Stage (USA)

Click here to compare & buy Muncie Girls Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Muncie Girls - Fixed Ideals (Album Review)
Thu 13 Sep 2018
‘Fixed Ideals’ begins in medias res. Lande Hekt is tired, anxious and furiously angry. “I’m gonna get a tattoo that says: fuck Jeremy Clarkson and fuck you too,” she sings. The album’s opener is something of a blueprint for what follows, fusing fabulous melodies with brass tacks insights into her own life and a vivid, despondent view of a world that has lurched right with little concern for the people getting crushed in the gears.
Muncie Girls Share Mental Health Conscious New Single Clinic
Thu 30 Aug 2018
The video for Muncie Girls’ new single is based on a 100 year old science experiment.
Muncie Girls Share New Track Falling Down
Wed 04 Jul 2018
Photo: Martyna Wisniewska Muncie Girls have shared a new song.
Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard Among New Acts Announced For Cardiff Psych and Noise Fest
Thu 14 Feb 2019
Nine new acts have been announced for Cardiff Psych and Noise Fest.
Now And Next: Stereoboard's Ones To Watch In 2019
Tue 08 Jan 2019
td#right {display:none !important;} A new year brings with it the chance to look ahead after a few weeks of looking back over our shoulders. In musical terms, we can start to think about the artists who’ll capture our attention on summer festival stages, or during opening slots for existing favourites. We can ponder the singles that’ll leap from radio waves or playlists into the fabric of our day-to-day. Here we’ve assembled 10 artists we believe will make 2019 one to remember—some of them are about to release debut records, others are starting to pound the pavement in support of music that deserve time to shine.
'Dadcore', Mixtapes and More: Meet Mozes and the Firstborn
Tue 15 Jan 2019
Photo: Nick Helderman It all started with clothes. Specifically, it all started with Melle Dielesen’s clothes.
A Couple Power Chords Go A Long Way: Mike Krol On Going Back To Basics
Wed 23 Jan 2019
“With a couple power chords, I’m gonna let you know...” One line. Five decades of music history.
Flamingods And TVAM Among New Acts Announced For Mutations Festival
Mon 21 Jan 2019
The full line up for Mutations festival has been revealed.
 
< Prev   Next >