Home > News & Reviews > Dido

Dido - Still on My Mind (Album Review)

Monday, 11 March 2019 Written by Jacob Brookman

For Brits of a certain age, Dido’s music represents a particular sense of time and space. The late ‘90s was a period of intense, outward-looking optimism and, though the brilliance of Britpop was fading, even easy-listening pop acts like Dido seemed to have a high degree of creative integrity.

Little wonder, perhaps, that ‘Still on My Mind’, her fifth album, dutifully channels that sound. Produced in part by her brother Rollo (one third of Faithless), it is a record of electronic balladry, melded together by that unmistakable, honeyed vocal. It lands directly and familiarly, and should please fans old and new.

That said, there are few stand-out tracks. Give You Up is probably the best of them, combining excellent songwriting with held-back production plus neat and tidy vocal arrangements.

There is also Hurricanes, a song of pleasant patience that has a lo-fi melody and a decent breakbeat drop. And, though these moments do not get close to the pop dynamite of Dido’s early catalogue, they do provide an excellent foundation for her vocals.

One of the most recognisable idiosyncrasies of Dido’s voice is her capacity to drop out seemingly halfway through a line, only to deliver the final syllable and remind us that the note was always there. It’s a motif that, combined with minimal vibrato and skilful falsetto, makes for a very pleasant listen.

As a result, ‘Still on My Mind’ is a good easy listening pop album, but too often it lacks innovation. Take You Home is a good example of that shortcoming. It’s essentially a dance ballad with magnificent choppy chords and a soaring hook, but you feel its ‘90s house production could be handled with a lot more interest. When the songs are less well conceived, like Some Kind of Love and the title track, the record really drags.

Dido Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Sun May 26 2019 - GLASGOW Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Mon May 27 2019 - DUBLIN Olympia Theatre
Wed May 29 2019 - MANCHESTER Albert Hall
Thu May 30 2019 - LONDON Roundhouse
Fri May 31 2019 - LONDON Roundhouse
Thu November 28 2019 - BIRMINGHAM Arena
Sat November 30 2019 - GLASGOW Armadillo
Sun December 01 2019 - DUBLIN 3Arena
Tue December 03 2019 - MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Wed December 04 2019 - BRIGHTON Centre
Thu December 05 2019 - IPSWICH Regent Theatre
Sat December 07 2019 - SHEFFIELD City Hall
Sun December 08 2019 - LONDON Eventim Apollo

Click here to compare & buy Dido Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Dido Tickets For Autumn UK And Ireland Tour On Sale 9.30am Today
Fri 15 Mar 2019
Dido has announced a fresh round of tour dates for the autumn. Dido tickets go on general sale at 9.30am today.
Dido Confirms Fresh UK And Ireland Dates For Autumn Following 'Still On My Mind' Release
Mon 11 Mar 2019
Dido has added eight more UK and Ireland shows to her tour supporting the release of 'Still On My Mind'.
Dido Releases New Single Still On My Mind
Fri 01 Mar 2019
Dido has released a new single.
BTS Announce London Wembley Stadium 2019 Show - How To Buy Tickets
Tue 19 Feb 2019
BTS will bring their Love Yourself: Speak Yourself tour to London this summer.
Louis Tomlinson Shares New Solo Single Two Of Us
Thu 07 Mar 2019
Louis Tomlinson has dropped his new single, Two Of Us.
Ariana Grande - thank u, next (Album Review)
Wed 13 Feb 2019
Five months after ‘Sweetener’, comes ‘thank u, next’, Ariana Grande’s fifth studio record. It is a detailed and emotional collection of modern pop that speaks candidly on an intense, life-changing two years for the singer.
Halsey And Yungblud Drop Video For 11 Minutes Featuring Blink 182's Travis Barker
Fri 22 Feb 2019
Yungblud and Halsey have shared a video for 11 Minutes, their new single featuring Blink 182 drummer Travis Barker.
Morbid Fascination: How Billie Eilish Put Us Under Her Spell
Fri 08 Mar 2019
Billie Eilish is everywhere at the moment. Armed with bewilderingly catchy pop hooks and a distinctly magnetic voice, the American artist is a force to be reckoned with.
 
< Prev   Next >