Home > News & Reviews > Duncan Lloyd

Maximo Park's Duncan Lloyd Announces Solo Album 'Outside Notion', Shares Lead Single Young Dreams

Wednesday, 17 April 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Andy Martin

Duncan Lloyd of Maximo Park has announced the release of a new solo album.

Led by Young Dreams, which comes with a video viewable below, 'Outside Notion' is scheduled to arrive on May 24 via Afternoon In Bed Records. Judging by the first single, the record looks set to be a fresh departure from the indie-rock he is known for. Discussing the track and the motivation behind its accompanying video, Lloyd said:

"Young Dreams is a song about temptation and being taken in with the idea of a place that isn't all it promises to be, it's about young voices not being heard and a battle with what is imagination, and what is not.

"For the video, I wanted to create imagery I hadn't seen or tried before, mixing colourful animation with moving footage, drifting through trees and city streets, then to a gig in a bar, and perhaps there's a subconscious sideways nod to Take On Me by Aha."

The album was recorded by Lloyd, with Tom English on drums and mixing by Dave Maughan. Head below to view its cover art and tracklist, alongside the new song.

Maximo Park, meanwhile, will play a one-off Scottish show at Edinburgh's Liquid Rooms on May 24. 

'Outside Notion' tracklist:

1. Historic Elements
2. 5 a.m. Eyes 
3. Planetarium 
4. Young Dreams
5. Outside Notion
6. Journey B 
7. 'Til The Fear Breaks
8. Guess & Wonder
9. First, Monday

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >