Home > News & Reviews > Roxy Music

Roxy Music To Release 40th Anniversary Deluxe Box-Set

Wednesday, 25 January 2012 Written by Jon Stickler
Roxy Music To Release 40th Anniversary Deluxe Box-Set

Roxy Music will release a deluxe box-set entitled ‘Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982’ on Monday 2 April, celebrating 40 years since the release of the band’s eponymous debut album in 1972. The release is the first of a major reissue campaign with Virgin Records.

‘Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982’, an 8 CD + 4 DVD deluxe box set will feature all eight Roxy Music studio albums - 'Roxy Music', 'For Your Pleasure', 'Stranded', 'Country Life', 'Siren', 'Manifesto', 'Flesh And Blood', 'Avalon'. In addition, a selection of non-album singles, B-sides and remixes, some of which are available on CD for the first time ever will also be included.  Each album will be represented on DVD format as high-resolution audio, transferred digitally from the original analogue masters, making this release an absolute 'must have' for Roxy Music fans and collectors.

Roxy Music – Bryan Ferry, Brian Eno, Andy Mackay, Phil Manzanera, Paul Thompson and Graham Simpson – landed in 1971 to part bewilderment part rapture…. an intoxicating cocktail of fashion, romance, nostalgia and futurism with songs that were almost cinematic, set to sound-scapes that stunned and perplexed.

‘Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972-1982’ brings together all of Roxy Music’s albums with a plethora of tracks previously never released before on CD, including the USA 7” mixes of ‘Do The Strand’ ‘Love Is The Drug’ and ‘Take A Chance With Me’, two edits of 'Country Life' opening track ‘The Thrill Of It All’, plus its B-Side ‘Your Application’s Failed’ (the only track to date written by Thompson), 7” and the 7” single versions of ‘Oh Yeah’ (from 'Flesh And Blood') and ‘Avalon’.

Further reissues are planned for 2012 with details to be announced at a later date.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Roxy Music, OMD and Pet Shop Boys to Feature on New Electro Compilation
Wed 12 Oct 2011
Roxy Music, OMD, Heaven 17, The Human League and The Pet Shop Boys are among the artists to feature on a new electro compilation from Mixmag. ‘Elekto Diskow’ is due for release on 17th October and includes two CDs featuring a selection of classic and rare tracks from the 80s. The album was compiled by DJ and record company executive Stuart Paterson. Listen to a mini mix of tracks from ‘Elektro Diskow’ below.
Bryan Ferry Unveils Video For New Album Track 'Shameless'
Tue 05 Oct 2010
The legendary Bryan Ferry returns with his brand new studio album ‘Olympia’ on October 25th. ‘Olympia’ follows up Bryan Ferry’s last studio album ‘Dylanesque’, which hit the UK top 5 on its release in 2007.
Roxy Music Announce Details Of First Tour In Over A Decade & Tickets
Thu 15 Jul 2010
The one and only Roxy Music have announced their first tour in over a decade which coincides with the 40th anniversary of the hugely influential band.
Crystal Tumblers and Beer Pong: KISS, the Music and the Merch
Tue 09 Jul 2019
Few rock bands have ascended to the iconic heights that KISS currently occupy, but their legacy is a complicated one. On one hand they are a huge arena draw, famed for fire, blood and good times, and on the other they are largely critically derided and dismissed as gimmicky, sleazy, over-the-top t-shirt salesmen.
Mott The Hoople Extend 2019 North American Tour
Tue 30 Jul 2019
Mott The Hoople have announced a second round of North American tour dates.
Hawkwind Add Brighton Date To 50th Anniversary Tour, Announce Special Guests
Wed 10 Jul 2019
Hawkwind have added a Brighton show to their 50th anniversary tour plans.
New Video Celebrates 50th Anniversary Of David Bowie's Space Oddity
Mon 22 Jul 2019
A new video for Space Oddity has been released.
< Prev   Next >