Home > News & Reviews > The Lemon Twigs

The Lemon Twigs Reveal 'Go To School' Centrepiece The Fire

Tuesday, 14 August 2018 Written by Helen Payne

If you haven’t heard by now, the Lemon Twigs are releasing a musical.

'Go To School' tells the coming-of-age-story of Shane, a young chimpanzee raised as a human boy. Yup. So far we’ve heard two tracks from the 15-track opus, If You Give Enough and Small Victories. Now, the centrepiece of the entire thing has been revealed.

On The Fire, an expansive, six-minute quest through dramatic western-movie style guitar solos, bouncy piano chords and even a banjo, the Lemon Twigs again prove themselves to be great storytellers. We’re taken through a significant day at school for the young ape - with gym class, getting pushed around in the playground, being rejected by a girl, and setting the school on fire.

‘Go To School’ is due for release on August 24. The band have also confirmed a huge North American tour, with tickets on sale on Friday August 17. Ahead of these shows, the band will join Arctic Monkeys on their UK and European tour and for two nights at LA’s Hollywood Bowl.

In addition, they will play two sold-out performances at London’s Lexington before heading to Green Man festival on August 17.

The Lemon Twigs Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Tue August 14 2018 - LONDON Lexington
Wed August 15 2018 - LONDON Lexington
Thu August 23 2018 - BROOKLYN New York - Baby's All Right (USA)
Mon October 15 2018 - LOS ANGELES California - Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever (USA)
Tue October 16 2018 - LOS ANGELES California - Hollywood Bowl (USA)
Fri October 19 2018 - SAN DIEGO California - Music Box (USA)
Sat October 20 2018 - TUCSON Arizona - 191 Toole (USA)
Tue October 23 2018 - AUSTIN Texas - Antones (USA)
Wed October 24 2018 - HOUSTON Texas - White Oak Music Hall (USA)
Fri October 26 2018 - NEW ORLEANS Louisiana - One Eyed Jacks (USA)
Sat October 27 2018 - TALLAHASSEE Florida - Wilbury (USA)
Sun October 28 2018 - BIRMINGHAM AL Alabama - Saturn (USA)
Tue October 30 2018 - NASHVILLE Tennessee - Basement East (USA)
Wed October 31 2018 - OXFORD Mississippi - Proud Larrys (USA)
Fri November 02 2018 - ATHENS Georgia - Georgia Theatre (USA)
Sat November 03 2018 - SAXAPAHAW North Carolina - Haw River Ballroom (USA)
Sun November 04 2018 - WASHINGTON District Of Columbia - U Street Music Hall (USA)
Wed November 07 2018 - ASBURY PARK New Jersey - Asbury Lanes (USA)
Fri November 09 2018 - PAWTUCKET Rhode Island - Met (USA)
Sat November 10 2018 - NORTHAMPTON Massachusetts - Pearl Street (USA)
Sun November 11 2018 - MONTREAL Quebec - Corona (Canada)
Sun November 18 2018 - MEXICO CITY MX - Corona Capital (USA)
Mon January 14 2019 - BOSTON Massachusetts - Paradise (USA)
Tue January 15 2019 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Union Transfer (USA)
Fri January 18 2019 - BROOKLYN New York - Music Hall Of Williamsburg (USA)
Sat January 19 2019 - BROOKLYN New York - Music Hall Of Williamsburg (USA)
Tue January 22 2019 - TORONTO Ontario - Phoneix (Canada)
Wed January 23 2019 - DETROIT Michigan - El Club (USA)
Fri January 25 2019 - CHICAGO Illinois - Metro (USA)
Sat January 26 2019 - MINNEAPOLIS Minnesota - First Ave (USA)
Tue January 29 2019 - SEATTLE Washington - Neptune (USA)
Wed January 30 2019 - VANCOUVER British Columbia - Venue (Canada)
Thu January 31 2019 - PORTLAND Oregon - Wonder Ballroom (USA)
Sat February 02 2019 - SAN FRANCISCO California - Slims (USA)

Click here to compare & buy The Lemon Twigs Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

The Lemon Twigs Share Video For Never In My Arms, Always In My Heart
Thu 15 Nov 2018
Photo: Olivia Bee The Lemon Twigs have released a video for Never In My Arms, Always In My Heart.
The Lemon Twigs Confirm February UK Shows
Tue 04 Sep 2018
The Lemon Twigs have announced a UK tour.
The Lemon Twigs - Go To School (Album Review)
Thu 30 Aug 2018
Rock operas are a risky business. If you pull it off, maybe with your own ‘Tommy’ or ‘Quadrophenia’, you’re forever heralded as a genius. If you fail, and produce something as aimless as it is pointless, you’re marked for the rest of your career as something of an overblown bore. Well, the Lemon Twigs have accepted the challenge. And in true Twigs fashion, it’s completely and utterly bananas.
New Order - ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) (Album Review)
Wed 17 Jul 2019
New Order’s new live album is taken from a performance at 2017’s Manchester International Festival. The show was a collaboration with conceptual artist Liam Gillick and featured songs from their 30 year catalogue, alongside tracks by the group’s precursor, Joy Division. 
Frightened Rabbit - Tiny Changes: A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight (Album Review)
Thu 18 Jul 2019
Our assorted relationships with the songs we love are destined to change dramatically over time. But not always like this.
Elbow Confirm October Release For New Album 'Giants Of All Sizes'
Wed 07 Aug 2019
Elbow have announced their new album.
Snow Patrol Line Up August Release For First Of Two 'Reworked' EPs
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Snow Patrol have announced an EP of reworked material.
Guided By Voices Announce Third Album Of 2019 'Sweating The Plague', Share First Track
Wed 07 Aug 2019
Photo: Tony Nelson Guided By Voices have announced a new album.
 
< Prev   Next >