Home > News & Reviews > UNKLE

UNKLE Announce Release Date For New Album 'The Road: Part II / Lost Highway'

Wednesday, 09 January 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

UNKLE have confirmed the release date for their new album.

'The Road: Part II / Lost Highway' is set to arrive through James Lavelle's label, Songs For The Def, on March 29. The record will be presented in two acts and folllows up 2017's 'The Road: Part 1', the first UNKLE record in seven years. Lavelle said:

"I started doing a show on Soho Radio in 2018, which made me think about playing records in a different way. It wasn’t about trying to make people dance in a nightclub. It was a breath of fresh air, and about playing a more eclectic mix. 'The Road: Part II' was made in the same way – it's a mixtape and a journey. You’re in your car, starting in the day and driving into the night. The language of it was to be the ultimate road trip.

It’s the mid-part of a trilogy. The first record is like you’re leaving home; you’re naive and on a journey of discovery. There are elements of my early days in there, as well as a bit of everything since. There’s an optimism and excitement to the record, as there was with me having to direct this project alone for the first time.

This record is the journey. You’re on the road, out there in the world. There are letdowns, highs, lows, love, loss, and experiences. The third record to come is basically about coming home; wherever that may be."

UNKLE have so far released two tracks from the LP, Ar.Mour featuring Miink and Elliott Power and The Other Side which features vocals from Tom Smith of Editors. Head below to check out both tracks alongside the album's cover art and tracklist.

'The Road: Part II / Lost Highway' tracklist:

Disc: 1 (Act I)
  1. Iter VI: Prologue
  2. Requiem (When You Talk of Love)
  3. Ar.Mour
  4. Iter VII: Lost
  5. The Other Side
  6. Feel More / With Less
  7. Nothing to Give
  8. Iter VIII: However Vast the Darkness
  9. Long Gone
  10. Only You
  11. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Disc: 2 (Act II)
  1. Iter IX: Epilogue / Tales of the City
  2. Crucifixion / A Prophet
  3. Powder Man
  4. Kubrick
  5. Sun (The)
  6. Find an Outsider
  7. Iter X: Found
  8. Days and Nights
  9. Reprise
  10. Iter XI: In Your Arms
  11. Touch Me

UNKLE Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Fri April 19 2019 - LONDON Royal Festival Hall

Click here to compare & buy UNKLE Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >