Home > News & Reviews > Gang Starr

Gang Starr Announce First Album In 16 Years 'One Of The Best Yet', Release New Single Bad Name

Friday, 18 October 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Gang Starr have announced their first new album in 16 years.

'One Of The Best Yet' is a 16-track project that was produced by DJ Premier and features posthumous vocals from the late MC Guru, who passed away in 2010 from cancer. It also includes collaborations with J. Cole, Q-Tip, Royce Da 5'9", Talib Kweli, Ne-Yo, and more.

Discussing the follow-up to 2003's 'The Ownerz', in a press release Premier said:

"I never lost faith, or wavered. I still felt it inside of me, it just happened to be nine years later (after Guru’s passing). We all want the things we want right now, but I am a patient guy. I hung in there and I just kept believing.

"This album means everything to me. It’s a continuation of what I never wanted to end. It’s a very foreign place for me and very emotional. I get happy, sad, excited; my feelings are kind of all over the place. But predominantly, just very happy to be making music with Guru again."

Ahead of its November 1 release, Gang Starr have today shared Bad Name, which envokes shades of old skool hip hop and follows on from the J. Cole-assisted Family and Loyalty from last month. Check it out below, along with the tracklist. The album's artwork is up top.

'One Of The Best Yet' tracklist:

1. The Sure Shot (Intro)
2. Lights Out feat. M.O.P.
3. Bad Name
4. Hit Man feat. Q-Tip
5. What’s Real feat. Group Home & Royce Da 5’9”
6. Keith Casim Elam (Interlude)
7. From A Distance feat. Jeru The Damaja
8. Family and Loyalty feat. J. Cole
9. Get Together feat. Ne-Yo & Nitty Scott
10. NYGz/GS 183rd (Interlude)
11. So Many Rappers
12. Business Or Art feat. Talib Kweli
13. Bring It Back Here
14. One Of The Best Yet (Big Shug Interlude)
15. Take Flight (Militia Pt. 4) feat. Big Shug & Freddie Foxxx
16. Bless The Mic

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >