Home > News & Reviews > Cave In

Cave In Announce New Album 'Final Transmission', Share Lead Single All Illusion

Tuesday, 09 April 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Cave In will return with a new album this summer.

Titled 'Final Transmission', the record marks the band's first full-length in eight years and their first release since bassist Caleb Scofield passed away following a car crash in March 2018. It also serves as Scofield's final album with the band. 

Led by the emotionally charged, pensive lead single All Illusion, which showcases Scofield's one lyrical contribution to the album, the poignant follow up to 2011's 'White Silence' is set to land on June 7 via Hydra Head. It was brought to fruition by the band, mixed by Andrew Schneider and mastered by James Plotkin. Vocalist and guitarist Steve Brodsky said:

“Getting these mixes back was really hard. I don't think I’ve cried so much putting together any record. I don’t try to look too deeply into how these things work, but these recordings are some of our last moments spending time with him.

"The song Shake My Blood was my first opportunity to express what I was feeling about the whole situation. It's a mix of extreme grief, frustration and anger. I was trying to do something to gain the clearest answer about whatever the next move might be."

Scofield began working on the record prior to his death and plays bass on six of the eight tracks and guitar on the other two. Drummer J.R. Conners added:

"Adam [McGrath], Steve and I would sometimes get together to work on stuff when Caleb couldn’t make it. But the next time Caleb would be there and the songs turned into something else. It became much more of a Cave In project than it was before he showed up.

"He had weird rhythms that none of us would ever come up with or think to try, which turned the material into a different thing. He had a huge hand in these songs."

Cave In and Old Man Gloom will perform at London's Electric Ballroom later this week in a co-headline show celebrating Scofield.

Additionally, the band will donate half of the record's proceeds to Scofield's wife and children. Head below to check out the album's artwork, tracklist and All Illusion.

'Final Transmission' tracklist:

1. Final Transmission
2. All Illusion
3. Shake My Blood
4. Night Crawler
5. Lunar Day
6. Winter Window
7. Lanterna
8. Strange Reflection
9. Led To The Wolves

Cave In Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Fri April 12 2019 - LONDON Electric Ballroom

Click here to compare & buy Cave In Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Cave In And Old Man Gloom Announce One Off UK Show
Mon 22 Oct 2018
Cave In and Old Man Gloom will perform at London's Electric Ballroom in spring as a co-headline show. 
Headie One Announces Autumn Headline Tour And New Project 'Music X Road'
Fri 21 Jun 2019
Headie One has announced plans to tour the UK this autumn.
Johnny Marr, Jungle, Viagra Boys Among New Additions To Line Up For Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival
Tue 11 Jun 2019
More acts have been added to the line up for Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival.
Stereolab Postpone Sheffield And Manchester Shows
Tue 18 Jun 2019
Stereolab have postponed their Sheffield and Manchester dates.
Sinkane - Dépaysé (Album Review)
Mon 10 Jun 2019
Photo: Daniel Dorsa ‘Dépaysé’ is a fantastical showcase of Afro-infused psychedelic indie-rock that demonstrates vaunting musical ambition, political awareness and immense talent in both its arrangement and composition.
Kasabian's Serge Pizzorno Announces Solo Album 'The S.L.P.', Plots UK Tour
Fri 21 Jun 2019
Serge Pizzorno of Kasabian has announced his debut solo album.
< Prev   Next >