Home > News & Reviews > Bush

Bush Announce Ninth Album 'The Art Of Survival', Share New Track More Than Machines

Wednesday, 27 July 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Bush have announced their ninth studio album.

Gavin Rossdale and Co will release 'The Art Of Survival' through BMG on October 7, following up 2020's 'The Kingdom'. 

It sees the British rockers reuniting with producer Erik Ron, who they worked with on their song Flowers On A Grave, and the title track of their previous record. The album also finds them collaborating on two tracks with film composer, musician and producer Tyler Bates. Commenting on the LP, Rossdale said:

"Instead of being mournful or self-piteous, this is about the success stories of humanity’s survival against the odds. People just find a way to push through. We’ve all obviously suffered in varying degrees. I think the nature of life is the art of survival. Everyone is being tested all of the time, but we find a way. In recent memory, we’ve made major strides and shown great resilience in the face of war, endless instances of racism, gender politics, a pandemic, and a melting pot of what we’ve experienced. For me, The Art of Survival encompasses all of this."

To accompany the news, the band have released More Than Machines, a heavy, riff-driven track that mixes elements of hard rock and grunge. A cinematic music video for the song is due to arrive soon. Commenting on it, singer Rossdale added:

"This is an action-packed song with three really big topics. Off the bat, I don’t understand how anyone has the audacity to get involved or assume responsibility for women’s bodies. I wanted to reference that, because it’s important to discuss. As much as the song is about the destruction of women’s rights, it’s about the destruction of the planet and the move for A.I. and a world of robots to replace us. It’s a topic we’ve heard since the fifties. I’m not here to teach anything though; my job is medieval, like a town crier. I come into town with my elixirs and sing about it, so it hopefully goes out into the universe."

Bush will hit the road for a North American tour with Alice In Chains and Breaking Benjamin this summer, kicking off on August 10 in Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, and wrapping up on October 8 in Mansfield, Massachusetts.

'The Art Of Survival' tracklist:

1. Heavy Is The Ocean
2. Slow Me
3. More Than Machines
4. May Your Love Be Pure
5. Shark Bite
6. Human Sand
7. Kiss Me I’m Dead
8. Identity
9. Creatures of the Fire
10. Judas Is A Riot
11. Gunfight
12. 1000 Years


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Tue 16 Jan 2024
Bush To Celebrate 30th Anniversary With Summer North American Tour
Wed 20 Sep 2023
Bush Announce 'Greatest Hits' Compilation Album, Share New Song Nowhere To Go But Everywhere
Wed 07 Jun 2023
Bush Share New Version Of 1000 Years Featuring Evanescence's Amy Lee
< Prev   Next >