Home > News & Reviews > The Decemberists

The Decemberists Announce New Album 'As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again'

Tuesday, 19 March 2024 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Holly Andres

The Decemberists have announced their new album.

Following the release of opening track Burial Ground, their first new song in six years, the Portland band have revealed that 'As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again' will arrive on June 14 via YABB Records (Thirty Tigers). 

Produced by frontman Colin Meloy and Grammy-nominated Tucker Martine, the double album is their longest to date, and features guest appearances from The Shins' James Mercer and REM's Mike Mills. 

Alongside the news, the group have shared a second single from the LP, the 19-minute slow burn Joan In The Garden, which closes the record while leaning into the group's prog-rock influences. Meloy commented:

"Joan In The Garden has been kicking around as an idea since the 'I’ll Be Your Girl' sessions. I got into a Joan of Arc kick after reading Lydia Yuknavitch’s beautifully batshit novel ‘The Book of Joan.’ I wanted to make my own version of Joan — but the song that came was as much about the creative process as it was about the actual woman, about angelic visitation and creative visitation and the hallucinogenic quality of both."

They'll embark on a North American tour this spring, with a second round of dates scheduled for the summer. They'll also appear at London's All Points East festival in August, supporting co-headliners The Postal Service and Death Cab for Cutie. Tickets are on sale now.

'As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again' will follow 2018's 'I’ll Be Your Girl', and the group's subsequent companion EP, 'Traveling On', released later that same year.

'As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again' tracklist:

1. Burial Ground
2. Oh No!
3. The Reapers
4. Long White Veil
5. William Fitzwilliam
6. Don’t Go to the Woods
7. The Black Maria
8. All I Want Is You
9. Born to the Morning
10. America Made Me
11. Tell Me What’s on Your Mind
12. Never Satisfied
13. Joan in the Garden

The Decemberists Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Tue April 30 2024 - KINGSTON New York - Ulster Performing Arts Center (USA)
Thu May 02 2024 - BOSTON Massachusetts - Roadrunner Boston (USA)
Fri May 03 2024 - BROOKLYN New York - Brooklyn Paramount (USA)
Sat May 04 2024 - NEW HAVEN Connecticut - College Street Music Hall (USA)
Mon May 06 2024 - TORONTO Ontario - History (Canada)
Tue May 07 2024 - PITTSBURGH Pennsylvania - Stage AE (USA)
Wed May 08 2024 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Fillmore Philadelphia (USA)
Fri May 10 2024 - WASHINGTON District of Columbia - Anthem (USA)
Sat May 11 2024 - DURHAM North Carolina - Durham Performing Arts Center (USA)
Sun May 12 2024 - ATLANTA Georgia - Eastern Atlanta (USA)
Tue May 14 2024 - DALLAS Texas - Majestic Theatre Dallas (USA)
Wed May 15 2024 - AUSTIN Texas - Bass Concert Hall (USA)
Fri May 17 2024 - ST LOUIS - Pageant (USA)
Sat May 18 2024 - MILWAUKEE Wisconsin - Riverside Theater (USA)
Sun May 19 2024 - SAINT PAUL Minnesota - Palace Theatre Saint Paul (USA)
Tue May 21 2024 - CHICAGO - Salt Shed (USA)
Wed May 22 2024 - ROYAL OAK Michigan - Royal Oak Music Theatre (USA)
Thu May 23 2024 - INDIANAPOLIS Indiana - Holliday Park (USA)
Fri May 24 2024 - NASHVILLE Tennessee - Ryman Auditorium (USA)

Fri July 12 2024 - BEND Oregon - Hayden Homes Amphitheater (USA)
Sat July 13 2024 - OAKLAND California - Fox Theater Oakland (USA)
Sun July 14 2024 - LOS ANGELES California - Bellwether (USA)
Mon July 15 2024 - LOS ANGELES California - Bellwether (USA)
Thu July 18 2024 - SAN DIEGO California - Humphreys Concerts By the Bay (USA)
Fri July 19 2024 - TUCSON - Rialto Theatre Tucson (USA)
Sat July 20 2024 - PHOENIX Arizona - Van Buren (USA)
Mon July 22 2024 - SANTA FE New Mexico - Santa Fe Brewing Company (USA)
Tue July 23 2024 - DENVER Colorado - Mission Ballroom (USA)
Wed July 24 2024 - SANDY Utah - Sandy Amphitheater (USA)
Fri July 26 2024 - BONNER Montana - KettleHouse Amphitheater (USA)
Sat July 27 2024 - SPOKANE Washington - Spokane Pavilion (USA)
Mon July 29 2024 - VANCOUVER British Columbia - Queen Elizabeth Theatre (Canada)
Wed July 31 2024 - SEATTLE Washington - Woodland Park Zoo (USA)
Thu August 01 2024 - SEATTLE Washington - Woodland Park Zoo (USA)
Sat August 03 2024 - TROUTDALE - McMenamins Historic Edgefield Manor (USA)

Compare & Buy The Decemberists Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

NOTE FROM THE EDITOR

We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!


Let Us Know Your Thoughts




Related News

Thu 16 May 2024
The Decemberists Release New Single Oh No!
Thu 08 Feb 2024
The Decemberists Share First New Song in Six Years Burial Ground
 
< Prev   Next >