Home > News & Reviews > Holly Herndon

Holly Herndon Introduces Third Album 'PROTO' With Video For New Single Eternal

Tuesday, 12 March 2019 Written by Laura Johnson

Holly Herndon has announced the follow up to 2015's 'Platform'.

The artificial intelligence-inspired 'PROTO' is due out on May 10 through 4AD and is the result of a collaboration between the American artist and her A.I. ‘baby’, Spawn, as well as long time collaborator Mathew Dryhurst and ensemble developer Jules LaPlace. It also features contributions by Jenna Sutela, Jlin, Lily Anna Haynes, Martine Syms. Herndon said:

“There’s a pervasive narrative of technology as dehumanizing. We stand in contrast to that.  It’s not like we want to run away; we’re very much running towards it, but on our terms.  Choosing to work with an ensemble of humans is part of our protocol.  I don’t want to live in a world in which humans are automated off stage.  I want an A.I. to be raised to appreciate and interact with that beauty.”

Head below to check out the artwork, tracklist and new single, Eternal. The song is abrasive, but also at moments ethereal, with Herndon's beautiful vocal harmonies managing to hold their own against a soundscape of aggressive beats, synths and samples. Head here for further details about the record.

'PROTO' tracklist:

  1. Birth
  2. Alienation
  3. Canaan (Live Training)
  4. Eternal
  5. Crawler
  6. Godmother (with Jlin)
  7. Extreme Love (with Lily Anna Hayes and Jenna Sutela)
  8. Frontier
  9. Fear, Uncertainty, Doubt
  10. SWIM
  11. Evening Shades (Live Training)
  12. Bridge (with Martine Syms)
  13. Last Gasp

Currently Herndon's only scheduled UK appearance is a set at Manchester International Festival on July 20. 




Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >