Home > News & Reviews > Chance The Rapper

Chance The Rapper - The Big Day (Album Review)

Wednesday, 07 August 2019 Written by Milly McMahon

Naming this latest project his debut album after releasing several blockbuster mixtapes, Chicago lyricist Chance The Rapper has channelled each facet of his performing personality into 'The Big Day'. 

Dedicating the 22 track LP to celebrating his recent marriage to his long term sweetheart, a sense pf hope, positivity and faith resonates, filter-free, from this soundtrack to this love story. Structured like a coming of age breakthrough, Chance feels a step ahead of the struggles that dogged him throughout his first mixtapes. 

Chance is a relatable artist, honest about the difficulties in his life, and on 'The Big Day' the songwriter focuses on promoting his Christianity, while remaining transparent about the influence drugs have had on his journey. 

Featuring a star-studded line up of diverse collaborators, including Death Cab for a Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, John Legend, Francis and The Lights, Nicki Minaj, Shawn Mendes, Megan Thee Stallion, Gucci Mane, En Vogue, and singer-songwriter legend Randy Newman, an array of prestigious artists have joined ranks to add a sense of permanence to 'The Big Day.' 

Once of Chance’s biggest influences and backers, though, is absent from the production credits. The rapper has been famously championed by Kanye West, whose influence nevertheless still feels tangible here. After launching his own Sunday Service this year, Ye is equally throwing serious weight, commercially, behind his Christianity right now.

It’s also intriguing that Chance’s target audiences feel younger with each release. His look, simplistic flow and production appeals to a less experimental crowd than his early mixtapes. Gen Zers are typically more in favour of sobriety and progressive ways of living, and Chance’s crowds perhaps want to hear music they can feel inspired by, not escape through. 

But there are some mis-steps. On Eternal, co-written with his father, Chance deliberates over his spirituality and relationships alongside soul singer Smino. Although the intention here is to celebrate self and their respective partners, the lyrics feel like empty boasts, fracturing the authenticity of the material. Chance is notoriously humble, and bragging rights do not sit so well in his mouth.

On the other side of the ledger, Found a Good One is a real stand out moment from the album. Encapsulating the aesthetic of his new sound, this is gospel served with a rapid twist. We Go High, too, is a textured hip hop lullaby, relaxing and smooth. This is peak Chance; a skewed confessional playing out like a poetic, internal narrative. 

Equally, sign off track Zanies and Fools is sheer brilliance. Here Chance struggles to find meaning in his life and raises a glass to the joy his holy matrimony has brought him. It feels like the moment his final guests leave and Chance and his new wife are left alone to reflect on what they have achieved. 

Chance The Rapper Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Sat September 14 2019 - SAN FRANCISCO California - Chase Center (USA)
Mon September 16 2019 - LOS ANGELES California - Forum (USA)
Wed September 18 2019 - SAN DIEGO California - Pechanga Arena (USA)
Fri September 20 2019 - LAS VEGAS Nevada - Life is Beautiful (USA)
Sun September 22 2019 - GLENDALE Arizona - Gila River Arena (USA)
Tue September 24 2019 - DENVER Colorado - Pepsi Center (USA)
Thu September 26 2019 - KANSAS CITY Missouri - Sprint Center (USA)
Sat September 28 2019 - CHICAGO Illinois - United Center (USA)
Sun September 29 2019 - CHICAGO Illinois - United Center (USA)
Wed October 02 2019 - NEWARK New Jersey - Prudential Center (USA)
Thu October 03 2019 - BOSTON Massachusetts - TD Garden (USA)
Fri October 04 2019 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Wells Fargo Center (USA)
Sun October 06 2019 - PITTSBURGH Pennsylvania - PPG Paints Arena (USA)
Tue October 08 2019 - NEW YORK New York - Madison Square Garden (USA)
Fri October 11 2019 - WASHINGTON DC - Capital One Arena (USA)
Sat October 12 2019 - CHARLOTTE North Carolina - Spectrum Center (USA)
Mon October 14 2019 - TAMPA Florida - Amalie Arena (USA)
Tue October 15 2019 - ATLANTA Georgia - State Farm Arena (USA)
Thu October 17 2019 - NASHVILLE Tennessee - Bridgestone Arena (USA)
Fri October 18 2019 - LOUISVILLE Kentucky - KFC Yum Center (USA)
Sun October 20 2019 - ST LOUIS Missouri - Enterprise Center (USA)
Tue October 22 2019 - DALLAS Texas - American Airlines Center (USA)
Wed October 23 2019 - HOUSTON Texas - Toyota Center (USA)
Thu October 24 2019 - AUSTIN Texas - Frank Erwin Center (USA)
Sat October 26 2019 - TULSA Oklahoma - BOK Center (USA)
Sun October 27 2019 - OMAHA Nebraska - CHI Health Center (USA)
Tue October 29 2019 - SAINT PAUL Minnesota - Xcel Energy Center (USA)
Wed October 30 2019 - MILWAUKEE Wisconsin - Fiserv Forum (USA)
Fri November 01 2019 - DETROIT Michigan - Little Caesars Arena (USA)
Sat November 02 2019 - CLEVELAND Ohio - Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse (USA)
Mon November 04 2019 - TORONTO Ontario - Scotiabank Arena (Canada)
Tue November 05 2019 - OTTAWA Ontario - Canadian Tire Centre (Canada)
Thu November 07 2019 - MONTREAL Quebec - Bell Centre (Canada)
Fri November 08 2019 - BUFFALO New York - Keybank Center (USA)
Sun November 10 2019 - MIAMI Florida - Miami Beach Pop (USA)

Click here to compare & buy Chance The Rapper Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Chance The Rapper Shares Video For Hot Shower Featuring DaBaby and MadeinTYO
Tue 29 Oct 2019
Chance The Rapper has shared a video for Hot Shower.
Chance The Rapper Cancels Los Angeles Show Due To Clash With Festival Appearance
Mon 07 Oct 2019
Chance The Rapper has cancelled an upcoming Los Angeles tour date.
Chance The Rapper Reschedules North American Big Tour To 2020
Thu 26 Sep 2019
Chance The Rapper has rescheduled The Big Tour.
The Game Lines Up UK and Ireland Born 2 Rap Tour For Early 2020
Tue 26 Nov 2019
The Game will tour the UK and Ireland in early 2020.
Stormzy Announces UK And Ireland Arena Dates As Part Of H.I.T.H. World Tour - How To Buy Tickets
Fri 29 Nov 2019
Stormzy has confirmed UK and Ireland arena shows as part of his H.I.T.H. World Tour.
Clams Casino - Moon Trip Radio (Album Review)
Thu 21 Nov 2019
A calming presence settles in alongside the listener with the first play of Clams Casino’s second full-length album ‘Moon Trip Radio’. Notoriously low key, the producer (real name Michael Volpe) has always preferred to exist just out of shot as his instrumentals help to foreground some of east coast rap’s brightest lights.
Earl Sweatshirt Drops Surprise New Project 'Feet Of Clay'
Fri 01 Nov 2019
Earl Sweatshirt has dropped a surprise new project.
Kanye West Unveils Video For Closed On Sunday Featuring Kim Kardashian And Kris Jenner
Fri 29 Nov 2019
Kanye West has shared a video for Closed On Sunday.
 
< Prev   Next >