Home > News & Reviews > Ringo Starr

Ringo Starr Announces 20th Studio Album 'What's My Name'

Friday, 13 September 2019 Written by Helen Payne

Ringo Starr has announced his 20th studio album.

The former Beatles drummer will release ‘What’s My Name’ on October 25 via UMC. Recorded at his home studio Roccabella West, the LP will feature an array of guests, including Paul McCartney, Joe Walsh, Edgar Winter, Dave Stewart, Benmont Tench, Steve Lukather, Nathan East, Colin Hay, Richard Page, Warren Ham, Windy Wagner, Kari Kimmel and more.

The title track is a rousing rock song written by Colin Hay, a member of the All Starr Band, featuring a classic Western-America style guitar melody and self-indulgent cries of "Ringo!” Starr commented:

 “This was Colin Hay’s fourth time in the All-Starr Band, and a friend told me that, unbeknownst to me, Colin wrote a song years ago called, What’s My Name. I said, “Bring it up to the house and let’s hear it.” Later I heard, Colin couldn’t find it! He’d written the song down six years ago and put it in this pile or that pile.  But it ended up at the bottom of the drawer. So, Colin came over and played it for me, and I LOVED it. I loved the verses. I loved the sentiment. In all honesty, there’s not a lot of people who could get away with asking, “What’s my name?” in a song. If you’ve been to the show, you already know the title. I’m blessed that most things coming my way are peace and love. There are still always trials and tribulations. But I just feel in life, the sun shines this way. I’m blessed. I always have the same talk – an audience can be tortured. We give them everything we’ve got. We give each other everything we’ve got. And sometimes it’s not enough. But most nights it’s everything. I’ll play the best I can for you. And you play the best you can for me. That’s all I can ask.”

‘What’s My Name’ tracklist:

  1. Gotta Get Up To Get Down
  2. Its Not Love That You Want
  3. Grow Old With Me
  4. Magic
  5. Money (That’s What I Want)
  6. Better Days
  7. Life Is Good
  8. Thank God For Music
  9. Send Love Spread Peace
  10. What’s My Name

Starr is also due to put out Another Day In The Life on October 15, a book of photographs reflecting his love of music, travel, and nature. Find out more here.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Tue 31 Mar 2020
Ringo Starr And The All Starr Band Reschedule North American Tour Dates
Tue 05 Nov 2019
Ringo Starr Announces 2020 North American Tour With All Starr Band
< Prev   Next >