Home > News & Reviews > Death From Above 1979

Death From Above 1979 Return With New Single One + One, Announce Fourth Album 'Is 4 Lovers'

Thursday, 04 February 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Norman Wong

Death From Above 1979 have returned with a new song, One + One.

The dance-punk track serves as the lead single from Sebastien Grainger and Jesse F. Keeler's newly announced fourth album, 'Is 4 Lovers', due out on March 26 via Everything Eleven. It was penned, produced, mastered and recorded entirely by them.

Their first new material since 2017's 'Outrage! Is Now' LP, One + One retains the simplicity of the Toronto duo's earlier material with elements of dance music punctuating a harsh groove. 

It comes with an accompanying video shot in Marmora, Ontario and directed by Grainger's wife Eva Michon, who also filmed the band's 2014 documentary, Life After Death from Above 1979.

"One + One is a love song," said Grainger. "It’s the karmic sequel to Romantic Rights. My wife, Eva, became pregnant not long after we started working on the song and after hearing an early version she said, 'I wish this song was dancier'. So I went back into the studio and re-worked the drums. As the record was taking shape, every time I would come home from the studio the baby would start dancing in Eva's belly. Even before I walked in the room the party would start. One plus one is three, that's magic!"

Discussing the clip, he added: "Since we started playing people would come up to the stage and after and say: 'I can’t believe there’s just two of you. The video for One + One is Eva's way of showing that our band is greater than the sum of its parts. It’s Death From Above 1979 in multitudes."

Take a look below along with the record's artwork and tracklist.

'Is 4 Lovers' tracklist:

1. Modern Guy
2. One + One
3. Free Animal
4. N.Y.C. Power Elite Part I
5. N.Y.C. Power Elite Part II
6. Totally Wiped Out
7. Glass Homes
8. Love Letter
9. Mean Streets
10. No War


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >