Home > News & Reviews > Lies

American Football Members Mike And Nate Kinsella Announce LIES Self-Titled Debut Album

Wednesday, 08 February 2023 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Alexa Viscius

LIES, the project from American Football members and cousins Mike Kinsella and Nate Kinsella, have announced their debut album.

Alongside details of the self-titled record, the duo have dropped a new single called Resurrection, a restrained, electro-flecked song. Head below to view the Atiba Jefferson-directed music video. Mike said:

"I’m not used to putting any gold-linings or much of any positive spin into my songs (there’s already enough of that garbage existing in the world), but writing about conquering whatever shame and guilt I have for whatever wants and desires I have, felt cathartic / almost therapeutic for me. The process of writing it and expressing the value in actually believing it has helped me feel more confident and assured with who I am and what I want (dare I say, ‘need’...)."

"Resurrection is a celebration song about reawakening a part of the self that has been hidden away in hibernation," added Nate. "We used mirrors and some camera angle trickery to superimpose our heads onto the bodies of a couple of professional dancers, whose movements illustrate a kind of unselfconscious joy and freedom – feelings that maybe we have a hard time accessing, or tapping into. I hope the video transmits the sense of fun and liberation that we envisioned (and experienced!) when making it."

The album is scheduled to arrive through Big Scary Monsters on March 31. It'll also feature the previously unveiled cuts Camera Chimera, Corbeau, Summer Somewhere, Blemishes and Echoes.

The pair will follow the release with low-key shows in Chicago, Pittsburgh, Brooklyn, Philadelphia and Washington during April. Head here for details.

'LIES' tracklist:

1. Blemishes
2. Echoes
3. Corbeau
4. Resurrection
5. Broken
6. Camera Chimera
7. Summer Somewhere
8. No Shame
9. Rouge Vermouth
10. Knife
11. Sympathetic Eyes
12. Merely


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Wed 16 Nov 2022
American Football Members Mike And Nate Kinsella Share New LIES Single Camera Chimera
Wed 21 Sep 2022
American Football Members Mike And Nate Kinsella Share New LIES Track Corbeau
Thu 04 Aug 2022
American Football Members Mike And Nate Kinsella Share New LIES Song Summer Somewhere
< Prev   Next >