Home > News & Reviews > Scream

Scream Announce New Album 'DC Special' For November, Drummer Kent Stax Dies Aged 61

Thursday, 21 September 2023 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Dave Pollack

Scream have announced their first new album in 12 years.

'DC Special' is scheduled to arrive through Dischord on November 10 and features the new fast, frantic rager, DC Special Sha La La, which is streaming below.

The Virginia punk icons worked alongside Minor Threat and Fugazi frontman Ian Mackaye and Don Zientara to create the record, which includes further contributions from Amy Pickering, Mark Cisneros, Joe Lally of Fugazi, and more. Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl, who played drums in the band during a spell in the '80s, also appears on the project.

Scream's most recent full-length release was 1993's 'Fumble'. They put out the 'Complete Control Recording Sessions' EP in 2011.

On Wednesday (September 20), just after announcing news of the LP, Scream's drummer Kent Stax died at the age of 61. Bandmates Pete and Franz Stahl shared an update with fans via social media and paid tribute to the musician. They wrote in a post on Instagram:

"We are heartbroken to share that our drummer Bennett Kent Stacks passed away this morning after a bout with metastatic cancer. Kent is the original heartbeat of Scream. Though we have had to continue on without him before, we have always known Kent is irreplaceable. He was one of a kind. In addition to being a truly unique drummer, Kent was also an accomplished fisherman, skilled carpenter, and avid train enthusiast.

"Kent also played in prominent punk and harDCore bands including The Suspects, Spitfires United, Alleged Bricks and more throughout his life. He also branched out to other genres, playing with The Daryl Davis Band and The Old Dominion Trio.

"He is survived by his wife of 40 years Andrea, daughter Jennifer, brothers Kurt, William and Henry and a host of bandmates, friends and fans. If you ever saw us play or if you knew Kent, your thoughts and memories are welcome here."

The band are due to embark on a series of North American tour dates set to kick off in October. As yet, there's no news on whether they plan to cancel or postpone the upcoming shows.

'DC Special' tracklist:

1. DC Special Sha La La
2. Bored to Life
3. Somebody Love
4. Hel Nah
5. Tum Tum
6. Represent
7. Dead Cities
8. Last of the Soft
9. Vanishing Commissars
10. The Flam
11. Lifeline
12. Call It a Night
13. Faces
14. Politics Is Entertainment
15. Black and White
16. Lifeline Redux
17. Smile and Bleed
18. I Saw Ya (Wanna Be Like Captain)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Tue 21 Feb 2023
Screaming Females - Desire Pathway (Album Review)
Wed 15 Feb 2023
Screaming Females Drop New Single Mourning Dove Ahead Of 'Desire Pathway' Release
Tue 17 Jan 2023
Screaming Females Announce Tour Dates And New Album 'Desire Pathway', Share First Single
< Prev   Next >