Home > News & Reviews > Fidlar

FIDLAR Announce Fourth Studio Album 'Surviving The Dream' With Two New Singles

Monday, 10 June 2024 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Alice Baxley 

FIDLAR have announced their first album in over five years.

The California surf-punk trio will release 'Surviving The Dream' on September 20, returning after a planned hiatus that was prolonged by the Covid-19 pandemic, and following up 2019's 'Almost Free' and last year's 'Unplug' and 'That's Life' EPs. 

Self-produced and self-recorded at Balboa Recording Studio in East Los Angeles, the 13-song set features their 2023 track Nudge, as well as the newly shared singles Get Off My Wave and Fix Me.

The former offers a fuzzed-up and unhinged blast of raw, emotion-fuelled punk energy, while the latter is a more snotty, self-confident offering that comes with a video featuring Sosie Bacon and a surreal karaoke performance. Frontman Zac Carper said:

"We picked these two songs to lead off the record because it represents the energy we pull off live. It's all about the sad moshpit. And having Sosie agree to be part of the video was just awesome. We did karaoke with her on her birthday and she killed it. When we came up with the idea, she was the only choice. She’s perfect."

Embracing their DIY roots while mainlining the energy of their live shows, the record was also partly informed by Carper's recent bipolar disorder diagnosis. He continued:

"This record is about doubling down on what you love. For us, it's about playing shows and making music. Coming back after a few years away, our intention was to self-make an album that the three of us are stoked on. We’re very very very pumped on it and what’s to come. These songs are meant to be heard live with the fellow FIDIOTS going off."

FIDLAR will support 'Surviving The Dream' with a North American tour, kicking off on September 23 in Santa Cruz and wrapping up on October 31 with a hometown Halloween show in Los Angeles. Tickets go on sale 10am local time on Friday (June 14).

'Surviving The Dream' tracklist:

1. Fix Me
2. Low
3. Sad Kid
4. Down N Out
5. Orange County
6. Break Your Heart
7. Get Off My Wave
8. Change
9. Making Shit Up
10. Dog House
11. I Don't Want To Do This
12. Nudge
13. Hurt


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Fri 06 Oct 2023
FIDLAR Share New Single Move On
Fri 15 Sep 2023
FIDLAR Post New Single Nudge
Tue 12 Sep 2023
FIDLAR Plot Autumn UK Tour Including London Show at KOKO
< Prev   Next >