Home > News & Reviews > Ezra Furman

Ezra Furman Announces New Album 'Twelve Nudes', Shares First Single Calm Down

Tuesday, 21 May 2019 Written by Helen Payne

Photo: Jessica Lehrmann

Ezra Furman has announced a new album.

‘Twelve Nudes’ is due to arrive on August 30 via Bella Union, after the alt-pop singer’s UK and Ireland headline shows and festival slots over the summer.

Furman said of the follow up to 2018’s ‘Transangelic Exodus’:

“I knew I wanted I make this album quickly and not spend time thinking how to play the songs. 'Twelve Nudes' is a ‘body’ more than a ‘mind’ record - more animal than intellectual, And by affirming negativity, it gives you energy, to reject stuff. There’s more space for positivity. The record is political, but it offers an emotional reaction rather than being specific or partisan.

"One of my goals in making music is to make the world seem bigger, and life seem larger. I want to be a force that tries to revive the human spirit rather than crush it, to open possibilities rather than close them down. Sometimes a passionate negativity is the best way to do that.”

They've also shared the video for the record’s first cut, Calm Down. A crunchy, fast-paced rock track, the heavy guitars emphasise the gravelly tone of Furman’s vocals, and contrast them with vibrant and psychedelic cartoon images directed and animated by frequent collaborator Beth Jeans Houghton, otherwise known as Du Blonde.

Furman plays headline shows in Norwich, Sheffield, Cork, Dublin and Galway over the coming months, as well as festival slots at Hay Festival, All Points East, Benicassim and Deer Shed Festival prior to touring North America and Europe in the autumn.

‘Twelve Nudes’ tracklist:

1. Calm Down aka I Should Not Be Alone
2. Evening Prayer aka Justice
3. Transition From Nowhere to Nowhere
4. Rated R Crusaders
5. Trauma
6. Thermometer
7. I Wanna Be Your Girlfriend
8. Blown
9. My Teeth Hurt
10. In America
11. What Can You Do But Rock’n’Roll

Ezra Furman Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed May 29 2019 - NORWICH UEA The Waterfront
Thu May 30 2019 - SHEFFIELD Foundry Sheffield SU
Tue July 23 2019 - CORK Cyprus Avenue
Wed July 24 2019 - DUBLIN Button Factory
Sun July 28 2019 - TOPCLIFFE Baldersby Park

Click here to compare & buy Ezra Furman Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Ezra Furman Releases Two New Tracks From 'Twelve Nudes'
Mon 15 Jul 2019
Ezra Furman has released two new singles ahead of the arrival of ‘Twelve Nudes'.
Ezra Furman Announces UK And European Tour
Tue 04 Jun 2019
Photo: Jessica Lehrmann Ezra Furman has announced a UK and European tour.
Ezra Furman Announces May Irish Dates
Mon 15 Apr 2019
Ezra Furman has announced new tour dates in Ireland.
The 1975 Team Up With Climate Change Activist Greta Thunberg For Poignant New Track
Thu 25 Jul 2019
The 1975 have teamed up with Greta Thunberg, a teenage climate change activist, for their latest track.
Friendly Fires Share New Single Run The Wild Flowers
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Dan Wilton Friendly Fires have dropped a new single.
Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'All Mirrors', Shares Video For Title Track
Tue 30 Jul 2019
Photo: Cameron McCool A new Angel Olsen album will arrive this autumn.
Public Service Broadcasting To Perform 'The Race For Space' At Wakefield Festival Of The Moon
Wed 24 Jul 2019
Public Service Broadcasting will take 'The Race For Space' to Wakefield.
Royal Blood Add Bexhill On Sea Date To Summer Tour
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Joeseth Carter Royal Blood have added a Bexhill On Sea date to their summer UK tour.
< Prev   Next >