M83 Details 'DSVII' New Album Influenced By Video Game Music

Friday, 12 July 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

M83, aka Anthony Gonzalez, has announced a new album.

Primarily influenced by early video game soundtracks, 'DSVII' (Digital Shades Vol. II) is scheduled to arrive on September 20 via Mute. It serves as the sequel to 2007's 'Digital Shades Vol. 1', as well as the follow up to his 2016 studio album 'Junk'.

The new material was recorded in 2017 and 2018 exclusively with analog equipment. Gonzaelez said:

"I wanted to come back with something stronger that featured the depth of a proper studio album without the pressure of providing pop music – faraway from 'Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming' and 'Junk'.

"I mainly spent my time swimming in the Mediterranean Sea, reading, watching films and playing ‘80s video games. The inspiration behind this record is mainly video game music. It felt so refreshing to play all of these old school games again. There is something so naive and touching about them. It’s simple and imperfect. And this is exactly what I tried to achieve with Digital Shades Vol. 2."

Head below to view the record's artwork and tracklist.

'DSVII' tracklist:

1. Hell Riders
2. A Bit of Sweetness
3. Goodbye Captain Lee
4. Colonies
5. Meet the Friends
6. Feelings
7. A Word of Wisdom
8. Lune De Fiel
9. Jeux D'Enfants
10. A Taste of the Dusk
11. Lunar Son
12. Oh Yes You’re There, Everyday
13. Mirage
14. Taifun Glory
15. Temple of Sorrow

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

M83 Posts Video For Do It, Try It
Mon 14 Aug 2017
M83 has posted a video for Do It, Try It.
M83 Confirms November O2 Academy Brixton Show
Tue 19 Jul 2016
M83 will bring the Junk tour to London this autumn.
M83 Confirms A Brace Of UK Headline Shows In June
Wed 20 Apr 2016
M83 has lined up a brace of headlining UK shows between summer festival appearances.
The 1975 Team Up With Climate Change Activist Greta Thunberg For Poignant New Track
Thu 25 Jul 2019
The 1975 have teamed up with Greta Thunberg, a teenage climate change activist, for their latest track.
Friendly Fires Share New Single Run The Wild Flowers
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Dan Wilton Friendly Fires have dropped a new single.
Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'All Mirrors', Shares Video For Title Track
Tue 30 Jul 2019
Photo: Cameron McCool A new Angel Olsen album will arrive this autumn.
Public Service Broadcasting To Perform 'The Race For Space' At Wakefield Festival Of The Moon
Wed 24 Jul 2019
Public Service Broadcasting will take 'The Race For Space' to Wakefield.
Royal Blood Add Bexhill On Sea Date To Summer Tour
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Joeseth Carter Royal Blood have added a Bexhill On Sea date to their summer UK tour.
< Prev   Next >