Home > News & Reviews > Sturgill Simpson

Sturgill Simpson Announces New Album 'Sound & Fury' And Anime Film, Shares First Single

Wednesday, 21 August 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Semi Song

Sturgill Simpson has detailed his next record and an accompanying film.

The Kentucky country and roots singer-songwriter will simultaneously release 'Sound & Fury' and a new anime film of the same name on Netflix on September 27. Check out the record's artwork and tracklist below, alongside an imaginative video for the rock and roll jam of a first single Sing Along.

Produced by the Grammy Award-winner and his band, the album will serve as a companion to the anime film, created by Simpson alongside manga artist Takashi Okazaki and filmmaker Junpei Mizusaki. Each of the 10 tracks on the record will provide a soundtrack for the film's narrative.

'Sound & Fury' follows up Simpson's last studio LP, 2016's 'A Sailor's Guide to Earth'.

'Sound & Fury' tracklist:

1. Ronin
2. Remember to Breathe
3. Sing Along
4. A Good Look
5. Make Art Not Friends
6. Best Clockmaker on Mars
7. All Said and Done
8. Last Man Standing
9. Mercury in Retrograde
10. Fastest Horse in Town

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Sturgill Simpson To Play UK Shows Prior To Latitude
Tue 03 May 2016
Sturgill Simpson has announced UK shows before his planned stop at Latitude this summer.
Sturgill Simpson - A Sailor's Guide To Earth (Album Review)
Fri 22 Apr 2016
Photo: Reto Sterchi Over the last few years Sturgill Simpson has spent a considerable amount of time refuting claims that he’s the saviour of country music. We certainly live in a time where people love to label everything and everyone, but ‘A Sailor’s Guide To Earth’ proves that tagging this Nashville-based troubadour is completely reductive. Is he country, bluegrass, rock ‘n’ roll, soul, Americana? The answer is all of those and more. Much, much more.
Sturgill Simpson Returns For Edinburgh And London Shows
Tue 24 Mar 2015
Sturgill Simpson will return to Europe this summer to play a handful of festivals, along with headline shows in Edinburgh and London.
Taylor Swift - Lover (Album Review)
Thu 29 Aug 2019
Taylor Swift’s songs can be quite cloying, which makes sense. This is an artist forged in the furnace of country music, where proletarian tales of naiveté and heartbreak rattle along next to low slung, sorrowful defiance—all in the name of naked, exploitable greenbacks. As such her seventh studio album, ‘Lover’, hits its familiar marks in a now familiarly unfamiliar way. She is America’s most conventional pop star.
Miranda Lambert Releases New 'Wildcard' Single Pretty Bitchin'
Fri 06 Sep 2019
Miranda Lambert has released a new single.
Taylor Swift Releases Video For Title Track Of New Album 'Lover'
Fri 23 Aug 2019
Taylor Swift has shared a video for the title track of her new album, 'Lover'.
Taylor Swift Reveals Title Track Of New Album 'Lover'
Fri 16 Aug 2019
Taylor Swift has revealed the title track from her new album.
Taylor Swift Reveals Tracklist For New Album 'Lover'
Mon 19 Aug 2019
Taylor Swift has revealed the tracklist for her new album 'Lover'.
< Prev   Next >