Home > News & Reviews > Thom Yorke

Thom Yorke Reveals New Track Daily Battles Featuring Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea

Wednesday, 21 August 2019 Written by Helen Payne

Thom Yorke has released a new track.

Daily Battles is the main theme from Motherless Brooklyn, the upcoming scereenplay based on a 1950s version of Jonathan Lethem's 1999 novel of the same name.

The serene, piano-led track features vulnerable, double-tracked vocals by the Radiohead frontman and Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea on bass and trumpets. Director Edward Norton said to Rolling Stone:

“Thom is so good at weaving together personal anguish and the crushing politics of the time. The way that you get the sense in his songs of the difficulty of holding on to your own spirit within times that feel oppressive, and that is so much the straddle that is taking place in this film, which is loneliness and institutional depression and racism.”

The single will get a physical release on October 4 as a split 7” along with a jazz arrangement by Wynton Marsalis. The full soundtrack for Motherless Brooklyn, meanwhile, will follow on October 25, ahead of the film’s UK release on November 29. 

Yorke recently released a remix EP of his latest solo album, ‘Anima’, and last year collaborated with Luca Guadagnino on the soundtrack to the supernatural horror film Suspiria. This fall he'll tour North America. Tickets are on sale now.

Thom Yorke Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Thu September 26 2019 - LAVAL Quebec - Place Bell (Canada)
Fri September 27 2019 - TORONTO Ontario - Scotiabank Arena (Canada)
Sun September 29 2019 - PITTSBURGH Pennsylvania - Stage AE (USA)
Mon September 30 2019 - COLUMBUS Ohio - Express Live (USA)
Sun October 06 2019 - ATLANTA Georgia - Fox Theatre Atlanta (USA)
Wed October 09 2019 - NEW ORLEANS Louisiana - Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts (USA)
Fri October 18 2019 - BERKELEY California - Greek Theatre-U.C. Berkeley (USA)
Sun October 20 2019 - SEATTLE Washington - Paramount Theatre Seattle (USA)
Mon October 21 2019 - VANCOUVER British Columbia - Orpheum Theatre (Canada)
Tue October 22 2019 - PORTLAND Oregon - Arlene Schnitzer Hall (USA)
Fri October 25 2019 - SANTA BARBARA California - Santa Barbara Bowl (USA)
Sat October 26 2019 - LAS VEGAS Nevada - Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas (USA)
Tue October 29 2019 - LOS ANGELES California - Greek Theatre Los Angeles (USA)
Wed October 30 2019 - LOS ANGELES California - Greek Theatre Los Angeles (USA)

Click here to compare & buy Thom Yorke Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Thom Yorke Plots Two US Dates Around Coachella Appearances, Shares Four Rarities
Tue 14 Jan 2020
Photo: XL Recordings Thom Yorke has added two new dates to his long-running solo tour.
Thom Yorke Shares Last I Heard (...He Was Circling The Drain) Video
Thu 31 Oct 2019
Photo: XL Recordings Thom Yorke has shared a video for Last I Heard (…He Was Circling The Drain).
Thom Yorke Adds Second Manchester Date To Tomorrow's Modern Boxes Tour
Fri 18 Oct 2019
Photo: XL Recordings Due to demand, Thom Yorke has added a second Manchester date to his Tomorrow's Modern Boxes Tour.
Morrissey Shares New Single Bobby, Don't You Think They Know?
Fri 10 Jan 2020
Morrissey has shared a new track.
Gruff Rhys Plots Off The Beaten Track Tour Of Intimate Venues In North of England
Fri 20 Dec 2019
Gruff Rhys has announced the Off The Beaten Track Tour.
Sam Fender Cancels Remainder Of UK And Ireland Tour Due To Illness
Thu 12 Dec 2019
Sam Fender has cancelled the remainder of his UK and Ireland tour on doctor's orders.
MGMT Announce New Label And Share New Song In The Afternoon
Thu 12 Dec 2019
MGMT have launched their own record label.
Field Music - Making A New World (Album Review)
Mon 13 Jan 2020
Field Music’s seventh studio LP is the Sunderland band’s self-described first ‘legitimate concept album’, which grew out of a project with the Imperial War Museum.
 
< Prev   Next >