Home > News & Reviews > Half Waif

Half Waif Lines Up Spring Release For New Album 'The Caretaker', Shares Lead Single Ordinary Talk

Friday, 31 January 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Half Waif, aka Nandi Rose, has announced her new album.

The singer-songwriter and producer will release 'The Caretaker', her first LP for ANTI- Records, on March 27. The 11-track record is preceded by lead single Ordinary Talk, which features layered synths and soft vocals. It comes with a Kenna Hynes-directed video, viewable below. Of the song, Rose said: 

"Recognizing your own ordinariness can be depressing, or it can be a relief. In Ordinary Talk, I wanted to honor and celebrate my ordinariness as an incredible tool for making me feel less alone. The song is a reassurance that feeling bad - or 'ill' - isn't something that needs to be corrected. There's a depth of experience that comes from feeling emotions at their extremes. And it is, in fact, this vivid, varied messiness that makes us human and ordinary.

"The corresponding video, written in collaboration with director Kenna Hynes, tracks the progression from isolation to communion as we move from a tableau of a troupe of strange courtiers to the neon lights of a good old house party. And as the song shifts and melts away, the cast of characters follows and looks outward: up toward the vast night with its unsettling drift of stars, over a vista of coffee cups and blue TV screens and folded t-shirts - the million tiny moments that define our days."

Rose composed the follow-up to 2018's 'Lavender' alone at a countryside house. Take a look at its artwork and tracklist below.

'The Caretaker' tracklist:

1. Clouds Rest
2. Siren
3. Ordinary Talk
4. My Best Self
5. In August
6. Lapsing
7. Halogen 2
8. Blinking Light
9. Brace
10. Generation
11. Window Place

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >