Home > News & Reviews > Robby Krieger

The Doors' Robby Krieger Announces First Solo Album In 10 Years 'The Ritual Begins At Sundown'

Friday, 21 February 2020 Written by Helen Payne

Robby Krieger has announced his first solo album in ten years.

The former Doors guitarist will put out his ninth LP, ‘The Ritual Begins At Sundown’, on April 24 via the Players Club, a division of the Mascot label. It’ll be the first since 2010’s ‘Singularity’ and sees Krieger once again working with songwriter partner and co-producer Arthur Barrow, as well as other Frank Zappa alumni Tommy Mars, Sal Marquez and Jock Ellis.

The first cut, The Drift, is an all out jazz number complete with keys, saxophone solos, trumpet melodies, a funky, repeated chorus, and of course, Krieger's signature innovative guitar work.

Krieger joined the Doors in 1965, releasing nine albums with them until 1978.

'The Ritual Begins At Sundown' tracklist:

  1. What Was That?
  2. Slide Home
  3. The Drift
  4. Chunga's Revenge
  5. Hot Head
  6. Yes, The River Knows
  7. The Hitch
  8. Dr. Noir
  9. Bianca's Dream
  10. Screen Junkies

We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >