Home > News & Reviews > Nick Cave

Nick Cave, U2, Father John Misty And More To Feature On Marc Bolan And T. Rex Tribute Album

Wednesday, 29 April 2020 Written by Sophie Williams

Photo: T. Rex Facebook

A tribute album is set to be released in honour of the music of Marc Bolan and T. Rex.

'Angelheaded Hipster' will arrive on September 4 via BMG Records. The 26-song collection will feature renditions of Bolan and T. Rex classics from the likes of Nick Cave, U2, Father John Misty, Kesha, Marc Almond and Joan Jett, among others.

Produced by the late Hal Wilner, who recently passed away due to complications related to COVID-19, the album is set to reimagine the expansive glam-rock discography of the former T. Rex frontman. Supervising producer Rachel Fox said:

“Hal had a unique vision of Marc Bolan’s music, and working on 'AngelHeaded Hipster'  brought him great joy. Speaking for those closest to him, we will forever be heartbroken at the untimely loss of our beloved friend and irreplaceable creative engine. Hal, who referred to 'AngelHeaded Hipster' as his ‘White Album’, was eager for everyone to hear these beautiful songs and to start thinking about Bolan and T. Rex again. This album is a testament to Hal’s spirit.”

The news arrives with Cave’s haunting reworking of the 1968 classic Cosmic Dancer. Check it out below, alongside the album’s artwork and tracklist.

'Angelheaded Hipster' tracklist:

Disc 1

  1. Children Of The Revolution – Kesha
  2. Cosmic Dancer – Nick Cave
  3. Jeepster – Joan Jett
  4. Scenescof– Devendra Banhart
  5. Life’s A Gas – Lucinda Williams
  6. Solid Gold, Easy Action – Peaches
  7. Dawn Storm”– BØRNS
  8. Hippy Gumbo – Beth Orton
  9. I Love To Boogie – King Khan
  10. Beltane Walk – Gaby Moreno
  11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) – U2 feat. Elton John
  12. Diamond Meadows – John Cameron Mitchell
  13. Ballrooms Of Mars – Emily Haines

Disc 2

  1. Main Man – Father John Misty
  2. Rock On – Perry Farrell
  3. The Street and Babe Shadow – Elysian Fields
  4. The Leopards – Gavin Friday
  5. Metal Guru – Nena
  6. Teenage Dream – Marc Almond
  7. Organ Blues – Helga Davis
  8. Planet Queen – Todd Rundgren
  9. Great Horse – Jessie Harris
  10. Mambo Sun – Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
  11. Pilgrim’s Tale – Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
  12. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise – David Johansen
  13. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan – Maria McKee


Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Fri 16 Oct 2020
Nick Cave Reveals New Track Euthanasia
Thu 03 Sep 2020
Nick Cave Reveals Live Album And Cinema Release 'Idiot Prayer - Nick Cave Alone At Alexandra Palace'
Tue 21 Jul 2020
Nick Cave Shares Galleon Ship Trailer For Idiot Prayer Livestream
Fri 03 Jul 2020
Nick Cave Announces Solo Streaming Event From Alexandra Palace In London
Tue 09 Jun 2020
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Cancel North American Tour
< Prev   Next >