Home > News & Reviews > AC DC

AC/DC Return With New Single Shot In The Dark, Confirm November Release For New LP 'POWER UP'

Wednesday, 07 October 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Josh Cheuse

AC/DC have returned with a new song.

Shot In The Dark marks the legendary rock band's first new music since the release of their 2014 LP, 'Rock Or Bust', which reached the top five in both the UK and US albums charts. 

The track arrives after a number of online teasers from the band, first changing social media photos to include the caption 'PWR/UP', appearing to hint at the title of their forthcoming 17th studio album, followed by a photograph confirming the current line up of the band, and finally a snippet of the new song.

Clocking in at just over three minutes, Shot In The Dark rolls out over a simple guitar hook, tongue-in-cheek lyrics, gang vocals and the hard, driving anthemic sound AC/DC fans will find pleasingly familiar. Press play below.

The band will drop 'POWER UP' on November 13, reuniting the surviving classic line up of Brian Johnson, Phil Rudd, and Cliff Williams, who have all rejoined the fold with Angus Young and nephew Stevie Young, who took over for the late Malcolm Young on guitar in 2015. 

In a new interview with Atlanta's Rock Station Rock 100.5, Johnson revealed how the record came together:

"It's something probably nobody thought would happen. It was about 2018, and Angus was contacted by the record company, who said, 'Do you fancy doing an album?' And Angus said, 'Well, let's ask the boys.' So he asked me and Cliff and Phil. And Stevie was there, obviously. And I think we all said 'yes' immediately; we just said, 'This would be great.' And, of course, we went off to Vancouver in about August. As soon as we walked in, there was this electricity, this bond that had been built up over 38 years since I joined. And, of course, when the boys plugged in, or powered up, if you'll excuse the pun, and they started playing, that was it. It was a great time."

'POWER UP' tracklist:

1. Realize
2. Rejection
3. Shot In The Dark
4. Through The Mists Of Time
5. Kick You When You’re Down
6. Witch’s Spell
7. Demon Fire
8. Wild Reputation
9. No Man’s Land
10. Systems Down
11. Money Shot
12. Code Red

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 13 Jan 2021
AC/DC Release Video For 'PWR UP' Track Realize
Thu 10 Dec 2020
AC/DC Unveil Demon Fire Video
Tue 17 Nov 2020
AC/DC - Power Up (Album Review)
Wed 11 Nov 2020
AC/DC Share New Single Realize Ahead Of 'POWER UP' Release
Mon 26 Oct 2020
AC/DC Unveil Video For Shot In The Dark
< Prev   Next >