Home > News & Reviews > Dinosaur Jr

Dinosaur Jr. Set April Release For New Album 'Sweep It Into Space', Share First Single I Ran Away

Tuesday, 23 February 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Cara Totman

Dinosaur Jr. have unveiled details of their new album.

Originally scheduled to arrive in mid-2020, 'Sweep It Into Space' is due out on April 23 via Jagjaguwar and was mostly recorded pre-COVID-19, during late 2019 at frontman J Mascis' home studio Bisquiteen in Amherst, Massachusetts.

The follow-up to 2016's 'Give A Glimpse Of What Yer Not' was co-produced by Kurt Vile, who also contributes to the record. After recording with Vile was hampered by the pandemic, Mascis "ended up just mimicking a few things he'd done."

"I was listening to a lot of Thin Lizzy, so I was trying to get some of that duelling twin lead sound," he explained. "But the recording session was pretty well finished by the time things really hit the fan. When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own. But it was cool."

Alongside the news, the band have posted the upbeat, guitar-charged first single I Ran Away, featuring Vile on a 12-string. Check it out below alongside the record's artwork and tracklist.

'Sweep It Into Space' tracklist:

1. I Ain't
2. I Met the Stones
3. To Be Waiting
4. I Ran Away
5. Garden
6. Hide Another Round
7. And Me
8. I Expect It Always
9. Take It Back
10. N Say
11. Walking To You
12. You Wonder

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Fri 29 Oct 2021
Dinosaur Jr. Surprise Release New Live Album 'Emptiness At The Sinclair'
Mon 19 Jul 2021
Dinosaur Jr. Plot UK And European Tour For Spring 2022
< Prev   Next >