Home > News & Reviews > Joanne Shaw Taylor

Joanne Shaw Taylor Announces 'The Blues Album', Posts New Single Let Me Down Easy

Wednesday, 04 August 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Christie Goodwin

Joanne Shaw Taylor has unveiled details of her seventh LP.

’The Blues Album’ will arrive on September 24 through Joe Bonamassa’s independent blues label KTBA Records.

The American guitarist also produced and help record the LP with Josh Smith at Nashville’s Ocean Way Studios, contributing guitar and vocals on Don’t Go Away Mad. Additionally, Mike Farris joins as a special guest on I Don’t Know What You’ve Got.

Comprising 11 covers of blues classics by Albert King, Peter Green, Little Richard, Magic Sam, Aretha Franklin, and Little Milton, among others, it follows Taylor’s ’Reckless Heart’ album, released in 2019. She said:

"I’d known from the beginning of my recording career that one day I wanted to record an album of blues covers, I just wasn’t sure when the right time to do that would be. I’ve always found it far easier to write my own material than come up with creative ways to make other artists’ material my own."

She added: "I mentioned my new project idea to Joe Bonamassa. He asked me for my song choices. Immediately, he began sending me notes and was texting me song suggestions. He was already acting as a mentor as well as an unofficial producer on ’The Blues Album’, so I asked him if he’d fancy the job, officially. Thankfully, he accepted. ’The Blues Album’ has been everything I hoped it would be. It’s been a labour of love, overseen by an artist, producer, and friend who I trust beyond measure."

"We wanted to make a tough vocal centric straight blues record that showcases Joanne’s amazing talent but in a slightly different light," Bonamassa commented. "Joanne is a dear friend and a superstar. Josh and I focused on testing her limits and pushing boundaries that might not have occurred before. It’s all about making a statement and having the listener want to play the music repeatedly."

To celebrate the news, Taylor has released her rendition of Little Milton’s Let Me Down Easy, which spotlights her sultry vocals and extraordinary guitar skills. Head below to view the accompanying video.

’The Blues Album’ tracklist:

1. Stop Messin’ Round
2. If That Ain’t A Reason
3. Keep On Lovin’ Me
4. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody
5. Don’t Go Away Mad featuring Joe Bonamassa
6. Scraps Vignette
7. Can’t You See What You’re Doing To Me
8. Let Me Down Easy
9. Two Time My Lovin’
10. I Don’t Know What You’ve Got featuring Mike Farris
11. Three Time Loser. 

UPDATE 11/08: The story published on August 4 had the release date as September 17 as provided by the artist, but the record's release has since been pushed back to September 24.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >