Home > News & Reviews > David Bowie

Lost David Bowie Album 'Toy' To Be Released In January

Thursday, 30 September 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Frank Ockenfels.

A lost David Bowie album will be released early in 2022.

Recorded in Manhattan in 2000, 'Toy' was intended to follow up 'Hours…' before being shelved in 2001 amid problems with his record label. It'll get an official release on January 7, the day before Bowie's birthday.

Comprising new songs and re-recorded and alternative versions of a selection of Bowie's tracks from 1964 to 1971, the record will be available as three-CD and six 10" vinyl versions as part of the latest raft of posthumous reissues. Head below to hear a re-recording of the single You've Got A Habit Of Leaving.

'Toy' will also be included in a box set out the same day called 'David Bowie 5: Brilliant Adventure (1992–2001)', along with remastered editions of 1993's 'Black Tie White Noise' and 'The Buddha of Suburbia', 1995's '1. Outside', 1997's 'Earthling', 'Hours' from 1999, a rarities compilation 'Re:Call 5', and a live album recorded at BBC Radio Theatre in 2000.

'Toy' tracklist:

1. I Dig Everything
2. You’ve Got a Habit of Leaving
3. The London Boys
4. Karma Man
5. Conversation Piece
6. Shadow Man
7. Let Me Sleep Beside You
8. Hole in the Ground
9. Baby Loves That Way
10. Can’t Help Thinking About Me
11. Silly Boy Blue
12. Toy (Your Turn to Drive)

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 14 Apr 2021
David Bowie Compilation 'The Width Of A Circle' Due For Release In May
< Prev   Next >